« So you want to write a novel... | Main | Today's assignment: graphic novels »

Whiting Writers Awards

Five fiction writers, three poets, a playwright and one nonfiction writer earned Whiting Writers Awards this week, which come with a hefty prize of $50,000. The winners were recognized for talent and potential; past winners include Denis Johnson, Colson Whitehead, Jeffrey Eugenides and Kim Edwards.

Berlinski_2 This year's winners include Mischa Berlinski (right), whose novel Fieldwork BtC has praised more than a few times.

Other winners:

Fiction: Laleh Khadivi, Manuel Munoz, Benjamin Percy, Lysley Tenorio

Plays: Dael Orlandersmith

Nonfiction: Donovan Hohn

Poetry: Rick Hilles, Douglas Kearney, Julie Sheehan


TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference Whiting Writers Awards:


Feed You can follow this conversation by subscribing to the comment feed for this post.

The comments to this entry are closed.

Terms of Service | Privacy Policy | Copyright | About The Miami Herald | Advertise