« "The Lost Symbol" sales top 2 million | Main | "Bright Star" an ode to dullness »

Dayton Literary Peace Prizes awarded


The winners of the 2009 Dayton Literary Peace Prize have been announced: Richard Bausch won the fiction category for his novel (appropriately entitled Peace), while Benjamin Skinner's A Crime So Monstrous: Face to Face With Modern Day Slavery took honors for nonfiction.


The runners up: the short story collection Say You're One of Them by Nigerian author Uwem Akpan (which was chosen as the Oprah's Book Club selection) and Thomas Friedman's nonfiction work Hot, Flat and Crowded.

The winners earn a $10,000 honorarium (with runners-up getting $1,000), and Skinner has announced he will donate his award to the human rights organization Free the Slaves.

Last year's winners were Junot Diaz (The Brief, Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao) and Edwidge Danticat (Brother, I'm Dying).


TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference Dayton Literary Peace Prizes awarded:


Feed You can follow this conversation by subscribing to the comment feed for this post.

The comments to this entry are closed.

Terms of Service | Privacy Policy | Copyright | About The Miami Herald | Advertise