« Aventura Borders to close | Main | What are you reading now? »

Rona Jaffe Foundation awards announced

Leper The 2010 Rona Jaffe Foundation Writers' Awards have been announced, honoring six women who "demonstrate excellence and promise in the early stages of their careers."

This year's winners are Hannah Dela Cruz Abrahms (nonfiction); Rachel Aviv (nonfiction); Sara Elizabeth Johnson (poetry); Alexandria Marzano-Lesnevich (nonfiction); Laura Newbern (poetry); Tiphanie Yanique (fiction). Two of the writers have already published works: Nebern has published the poetry collection Love and the Eye, and Yanique is the author of How to Escape from a Leper Colony: Novella and Short Stories.

The awards, $25,000 each, will be presented on Sept. 23. 


TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference Rona Jaffe Foundation awards announced:


Feed You can follow this conversation by subscribing to the comment feed for this post.

The comments to this entry are closed.

Terms of Service | Privacy Policy | Copyright | About The Miami Herald | Advertise