« "The Finkler Question" wins Man Booker Prize | Main | What are you reading now? »

Finalists announced for National Book Award

Here are the finalists for the 2010 National Book Award; winners will be announced Nov. 17.


Shriver Parrot and Olivier in America, Peter Carey

So Much for That, Lionel Shriver

Great House, Nicole Krauss

Lord of Misrule, Jaimy Gordon

I Hotel, Karen Tei Yamashita


Nothing to Envy: Ordinary Lives in North Korea, Barbara Demick

Justkids Just Kids, Patti Smith

Cultures of War: Pearl Harbor, Hiroshima, 9-11, Iraq, John W. Dower

Secret Historian: The Life and Times of Samuel Steward, Justin Spring

Every Man in this Village is A Liar, Megan K. Stack


The Eternal City, Kathleen Graber

Lighthead, Terrence Hayes

Mockin By the Numbers, James Richardson

One With Others, C.D. Wright

Ignatz, Monica Youn


Ship Breaker, Paulo Bacigalupi

Mockingbird, Kathryn Erskine

Dark Water, Laura McNeal

Lockdown, Walter Dean Myers

One Crazy Summer, Rita Williams-Garcia



TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference Finalists announced for National Book Award:


Feed You can follow this conversation by subscribing to the comment feed for this post.


Maybe this is petty of me but it doesn't seem quite fair that a two-time winner of the Booker is also eligible for the National Book Award. Shouldn't it be one or the other and then you fight it out for the Nobel or something?

Steve A.

Geez, can't a megalodon catch a break over here!

The comments to this entry are closed.

Terms of Service | Privacy Policy | Copyright | About The Miami Herald | Advertise