« Product Review: Geeking out over Knight Rider GPS by Mio | Main | Product Review: Jigglejam with the Cardo S-800 Bluetooth headset »

Miami Chamber announces finalists for Technology Leaders of the Year Awards

[UPDATE -- Location of awards luncheon has been changed as of 3/17. It's now at Jungle Island at 11 a.m. on March 27th]

The Greater Miami Chamber of Commerce sent out a press release today announcing the finalists for its third annual Technology Leaders of the Year Awards. Here are the details from the release:

The finalists are (by category):

CIO/CTO – Small/Medium/Large Enterprise:
Debbie Karcher, Miami-Dade County Public Schools
Michael Scheidell, SECNAP Network Security Corporation
Massoud Sedigh, World Fuel Services Corporation

Technology Infrastructure & Resource Management:
Hugo Perez, DATACORP
Ricardo Montero, Datapro Financial Information Systems
Pete Pizarro, eLandia Group

Best Up & Coming Technology Innovator:
Allen Firouz, Venturian Group
Soob Patel, ME 911
Silvia Yaniz, FarawayFriends.com

Best Use of Technology (for community as a whole):
Bart Chernow, University of Miami
Allen Eagle, Miami Dade Tax Collector’s Office
Jackie Fernandez, South Florida Technology Alliance

Top Technology Student (university student only):
Lisa Firestone, University of Miami
Nelson Torres, ITT Technical Institute
Tommy Wang, University of Miami

The Technology Leaders of the Year Awards are presented to individuals who have shown extraordinary technological hands-on experience and whose management of technology resources and/or technological innovations has made an outstanding contribution to their organization and community. Award recipients will be announced at a luncheon on Friday, March 27, 2009 at the Hilton Downtown Miami at Jungle Island at 11:00 a.m.

The luncheon features a keynote address by Adalio T. Sanchez, general manager of IBM Modular Systems. A native of Miami, Mr. Sanchez began his career with IBM in 1982 as a development engineer on the first IBM personal computer, designed at the company's Boca Raton research facility. Mr. Sanchez holds a BS degree in electrical engineering from the University of Miami and an MBA from Florida International University. He was named the 2007 Hispanic Engineer of the Year and frequently tops the list of the Top 50 Hispanics in Technology and Business. He is Chairman of the Florida International University Engineering School Executive Advisory Council, and serves as Chairman of the Society of Hispanic Professional Engineers (SHPE) Advisory Board.

The 2009 Technology Leaders of the Year Awards are made possible by presenting sponsor: IBM; gold sponsors: CheckPoint Software Technologies Ltd., Compuquip; bronze sponsors: South Florida Business Journal, Staples; and supporting sponsor - Secure Computing.


TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference Miami Chamber announces finalists for Technology Leaders of the Year Awards:


Feed You can follow this conversation by subscribing to the comment feed for this post.

The comments to this entry are closed.

Terms of Service | Privacy Policy | Copyright | About The Miami Herald | Advertise