« Jameis Winston, Cameron Erving Win ACC Yearly Awards | Main | Roberto Aguayo Wins the Lou Groza Award »

Jameis Winston Wins the Davey O'Brian Award, Named Walter Camp Player of the Year


The Home Depot College Football Awards were held Thursday evening in Orlando, FL and the Florida State Seminoles brought home plenty of hardware for their 13-0 season.

While Roberto Aguayo and Bryan Stork both won awards of their own, it was Jameis Winston that was the big winner on Thursday night. 

A 19 year old redshirt freshman, Winston burst onto the scene with a 25/27, 4 TD debut at Pittsburgh in the Seminoles' season opener and he hasn't looked back since.

Winston set a new ACC mark for touchdown passes in a season, broke Sam Bradford's NCAA record for TD passes by a freshman and set a new national freshman passing yardage record this season. He seemed poised to run away with the Heisman by the beginning of November.

Winston finished the season with 3,820 yards, 38 touchdowns and 10 picks on 67.9 percent passing. In the entire history of FSU football no quarterback had ever thrown as many TD passes in a season -- Winston did it in his very first year on the field.

For his success this year Winston was awarded the Davey O'Brian trophy (given annually to the nation's top quarterback) and given the Walter Camp Player of the Year Award on Thursday night. 

"When you have a team like that, anyone can go out there and do that," Winston said of his teammates after winning both awards.

The 6-4 redshirt freshman was also nominated for the Maxwell award but was edged out by Alabama quarterback AJ McCarron for the honor.

On January 6th Winston will attempt to cap his phenomenal freshman season with a win in the BCS Championship game. 


For all the latest Florida State news and updates, follow Patrik Nohe on Twitter...




Powered by TypePad