« FAN RANT: So good we had to give him his own headline! | Main | Meyer: Harvin won't play »

POLL: It's simple folks, will Tebow win the Heisman?

GAINESVILLE -- The University of Florida has taken a cautious approach this season in marketing its sophomore quarterback, Tim Tebow, for the Heisman Trophy. UF brushed off Heisman talk earlier this season. The wait-and-see approach took a turn after the Gators' win against South Carolina when Florida coach Urban Meyer referred to Tebow's seven-touchdown performance as the best individual effort by a quarterback he had ever seen.

Ballots went out Tuesday morning for the Heisman Trophy and Florida's sports information office disseminated this press release today [Wednesday], alerting members of the media that Tebow will hold a national teleconference on Monday. Here's the press release, detailing Tebow's amazing season and comparing it to past winners of the Heisman Trophy and other current Heisman candidates...

The Gators have two remaining home games on the regular-season schedule, which has been ranked as the second- toughest in the nation according to the NCAA.

A couple of nuggets you might not know about Tim Tebow:

Tebow has already rushed for as many or more TDs (19) this season than the following did in their most productive year: Emmitt Smith, Herschel Walker, Shaun Alexander, Bo Jackson, Reggie Bush, Adrian Peterson, Ron Dayne and Archie Griffin.

Tim has accounted for an SEC single-season record 42 TDs. The total is more than 85 Division I-A teams, including 11 in the current AP top 25. The total is more than the following Heisman Trophy winning quarterbacks in the season they won the honor: Danny Wuerffel (1996, 41), Jason White (2003, 41), Carson Palmer (2002, 37), Matt Leinart (2004, 36), Chris Weinke (2000, 34), Troy Smith (2006, 31), Charlie Ward (1993, 31). Only two quarterbacks that won the Heisman have ever accounted for more: Andre Ware (1989, 49), Ty Detmer (1990, 45).

Of the 72 Heisman Trophy Winners, only 11 came from undefeated and untied teams. Of the 72, 35 came from teams with 2-or-more losses and nearly 20 percent have come from teams with three-or-more losses.

Tim has rushed for more TDs in 2007 than Darren McFadden (Tebow 19, McFadden 12). He has thrown for more TDs and rushed for more than twice as many TDs this year as Dennis Dixon (Tebow 23 passing, Dixon 20; Tebow 19 rushing, Dixon 8) and has thrown roughly a third of the interceptions as Matt Ryan has (Tebow 5, Ryan 13).


Team Stats

» View more stats



Powered by TypePad