« Don't bring football or helmets to UF's football fan day | Main | "Heisman winner -- No trophy girlfriend" »

Tebow, Debose win ESPYs

GAINESVILLE -- Florida quarterback Tim Tebow won an ESPY Award on Wednesday night in Los Angeles for best male college athlete of the year while while incoming UF freshman Andre Debose won an ESPY for a touchdown catch he made during the Under Armor All-American game.

The ESPY Awards, ESPN's summertime awards show, will air at 9 p.m. on Sunday.

Tebow was nominated for the best male college athlete award along with Sam Bradford (football, Oklahoma), Matt Gilroy (hockey, Boston College), Lake Griffin (basketball, Oklahoma) and Stephen Strasburg (baseball, San Diego State). Tebow also won the ESPY Award for best male college athlete in 2008.

"It truly is an honor to even be invited to an event like the ESPYs and be able to be in the same room with many athletes that I have the utmost respect for," Tebow said in a statement. "And then to be the named the best male college athlete, which was decided by the fans, makes this night even more memorable. I want to thank my teammates and coaches, but a special thank you goes out to the entire Gator Nation, the best fans in the country."

Debose, the incoming freshman receiver from Sanford Seminole High, received his ESPY Award for a 92-yard touchdown catch during a high school football all-star game. LSU incoming freshman quarterback Russell Shepard, who completed the pass, also received an ESPY Award for the play.



Team Stats

» View more stats



Powered by TypePad