« Tim Tebow a finalist for the Heisman Trophy; Will he win it? | Main | How will Gators defensive end Carlos Dunlap be remembered? »

Carlos Dunlap among six Gators to receive All-SEC first-team honors

GAINESVILLE -- Eleven Gators received All-SEC recognition from The Associated Press on Monday. Six players were named to the All-SEC first team. Right guard Mike Pouncey, center Maurkice Pouncey, tight end Aaron Hernandez and quarterback Tim Tebow were the All-SEC first-team offensive selections. Defensive end Carlos Dunlap and cornerback Joe Haden were the Gators' All-SEC first-team defensive selections.

Seven players from the University of Alabama were selected to All-SEC first-team offense and defense.

There were five unanimous first-team selections: Alabama running back Mark Ingram, Alabama nose guard Terrence Cody, Alabama linebacker Rolando McClain, Tennessee strong safety Eric Berry and South Carolina linebacker Eric Norwood.

2009 AP All-SEC Team

(u-unanimous selection)




WR       Shay Hodge, Ole Miss, 6-2, 207, Sr.

WR       A.J. Green, Georgia, 6-4, 207, So.

L          Mike Johnson, Alabama, 6-5, 303, Sr.

L          Ciron Black, LSU, 6-5, 322, Sr.

L          Mike Pouncey, Florida, 6-5, 315, Jr.

L          John Jerry, Ole Miss, 6-6, 335, Sr.

C          Maurkice Pouncey, Florida, 6-5, 310, Jr.

TE        Aaron Hernandez, Florida, 6-2, 250, Jr.

QB       Tim Tebow, Florida, 6-3, 240, Sr.

RB        u-Mark Ingram, Alabama, 5-10, 212, So.

RB        Anthony Dixon, Mississippi State, 6-1, 235, Sr.

K          Leigh Tiffin, Alabama, 6-2, 212, Sr.


All-Purpose, Dexter McCluster, Ole Miss, 5-9, 170, Sr.

All-Purpose, Randall Cobb, Kentucky, 5-11, 188, So.



E          Antonio Coleman, Auburn, 6-3, 261, Sr.

E          Carlos Dunlap, Florida, 6-6, 290, Jr.

T          u-Terrence Cody, Alabama, 6-5, 354, Sr.

T          Dan Williams, Tennessee, 6-3, 327, Sr.

LB        u-Rolando McClain, Alabama, 6-4, 258, Jr.

LB        u-Eric Norwood, South Carolina, 6-1, 252, Sr.

LB        Rennie Curran, Georgia, 5-11, 225, Jr.

CB        Javier Arenas, Alabama, 5-9, 195, Sr.

CB        Joe Haden, Florida, 5-11, 190, Jr.

S          u-Eric Berry, Tennessee, 5-11, 203, Jr.

S          Mark Barron, Alabama, 6-2, 214, So.

P          Drew Butler, Georgia, 6-2, 203, So.




WR       Joe Adams, Arkansas, 5-10, 182, So.

WR      Riley Cooper, Florida, 6-3, 215, Sr.

WR       Brandon LaFell, LSU, 6-3, 206, Sr.

L          Clint Boling, Georgia, 6-5, 297, Jr.

L          Chris Scott, Tennessee, 6-5, 346, Sr.

L          James Carpenter, Alabama, 6-5, 300, Jr.

L          Mitch Petrus, Arkansas, 6-4, 315, Sr.

C          Ryan Pugh, Auburn, 6-4, 289, Jr.

TE        Colin Peek, Alabama, 6-6, 255, Sr.

QB        Ryan Mallett, Arkansas, 6-7, 238, So.

RB        Dexter McCluster, Ole Miss, 5-9, 170, Sr.

RB        Montario Hardesty, Tennessee, 6-0, 215, Sr.

RB        Ben Tate, Auburn, 5-11, 218, Sr.

K          Blair Walsh, Georgia, 5-10, 185, So.


All-Purpose, Derrick Locke, Kentucky, 5-9, 190, Jr.

All-Purpose, Javier Arenas, Alabama, 5-9, 195, Sr.



E          Jermaine Cunningham, Florida, 6-3, 257, Sr.

E          Justin Houston, Georgia, 6-3, 259, So.

E          Pernell McPhee, Mississippi State, 6-4, 275, Jr.

T          Geno Atkins, Georgia, 6-1, 290, Sr.

T          Corey Peters, Kentucky, 6-3, 295, Sr.

T          Jerrell Powe, Ole Miss, 6-2, 330, Jr.

T          Malcolm Sheppard, Arkansas, 6-2, 291, Sr.

LB        Brandon Spikes, Florida, 6-4, 255, Sr.

LB        Sam Maxwell, Kentucky, 6-3, 248, Sr.

LB        Rico McCoy, Tennessee, 6-1, 220, Sr.

CB        Patrick Peterson, LSU, 6-1, 211, So.

CB        Myron Lewis, Vanderbilt, 6-2, 205, Sr.

CB        Walt McFadden, Auburn, 6-0, 175, Sr.

S          Chad Jones, LSU, 6-3, 231, Jr.

S          Chris Culliver, South Carolina, 6-0, 190, Jr.

P          Chas Henry, Florida, 6-4, 222, Jr.




Zipp Duncan, T, Kentucky, 6-5, 291, Sr.; Trindon Holliday, All-Purpose, LSU, 5-5, 161, Sr.; Lee Ziemba, T, Auburn, 6-8, 308, Jr.



Ahmad Black, S, Florida, 5-9, 185, Jr.; Chris Marve, LB, Vanderbilt, 6-0, 230, So.; Cliff Matthews, E, South Carolina, 6-4, 249, Jr.



Mark Ingram, Alabama



Rolando McClain, Alabama



Nick Saban, Alabama



Warren Norman, Vanderbilt


TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference Carlos Dunlap among six Gators to receive All-SEC first-team honors:


Feed You can follow this conversation by subscribing to the comment feed for this post.

The comments to this entry are closed.