« Longtime Gators assistant spending his final nights as Urban Meyer's defensive coordinator | Main | NCAA investigates Tennessee Volunteers football over use of recruiting hostesses »

Tebow begins Award Week with Campbell Trophy

GAINESVILLE -- For the third consecutive postseason, the individual awards are rolling in for Florida quarterback Tim Tebow. Earlier this week, he was named the the Southeastern Conference's all-conference quarterback. On Tuesday, he picked up one of the biggest awards of his career, the Campbell Trophy. 

DraddyTrophyThe Campbell Trophy [PICTURED] is based on academics, performance on the field, leadership and citizenship. Known as the academic Heisman, the Campbell Trophy is given annually to college football's top scholar-athlete. Tebow has a 3.66 GPA in family, youth and community sciences. He has performed countless hours (over 700 this year) of community service during his college career in addition to being one of the most decorated college football players to ever play the game.

"Tim Tebow is a once in a lifetime student-athlete," said Steve J. Hatchell, the president and CEO of the National Football Foundation. "Tim's unparalleled accomplishments and charisma have transcended the playing field, capturing the imagination of both the young and old. We could not be prouder to have Tim as an ambassador of this award and our sport."

Tebow received the award on Tuesday night at Waldorf-Astoria Hotel in New York City. Tebow flies to Orlando on Wednesday for ESPN's college football awards ceremony. The ceremony is on Thursday night and will be televised. Tebow is a finalist for Davey O'Brien Award (best quarterback) and the Maxwell Award (best all-around player). Tebow won both awards last year.

After Thursday's college football awards, Tebow will back to New York on Friday for the Heisman Trophy presentation. Tebow is one of five finalists for the Heisman, which will be presented on Saturday night at the Nokia Theatre in Times Square.

Three other Gators will also be at the college football awards ceremony on Thursday. Florida linebacker Brandon Spikes is a finalist for the Chuck Bednarik Award (best defender), cornerback Joe Haden is a finalist for the Jim Thorpe Award (best defensive back) and Chas Henry is a finalist for the Ray Guy Award (best punter).



Team Stats

» View more stats



Powered by TypePad