« Reader: 'gays can't get marry because it ruin the sanctity of marriage but kim kardashian can?' | Main | Former Fort Lauderdale Vice Mayor Dean Trantalis launches OUT-LAW talk show Sundays on WFTL »

Sen. Bill Nelson, Rep. Debbie Wasserman Schultz to co-host Equality Florida 2011 Broward gala

News release from Equality Florida:

Political Leaders Show Support for LGBT Equality

US Senator Bill Nelson and DNC Chair Rep. Debbie Wasserman Schultz join 40 Congressional, State and Local Leaders as Honorary Hosts of Equality Florida Institute’s 2011 Broward Gala

(Ft. Lauderdale, FL) – More than 40 congressional, state and local elected leaders have joined the Honorary Host Committee for Equality Florida Institute’s Broward Gala, an annual gathering that brings 400 community leaders together to honor people who have made a difference. Equality Florida Institute is the largest charity dedicated to ending discrimination and securing full equality for Florida’s lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) community.

"I've known and worked with Equality Florida for years and am proud to stand with them in support of full equality for Florida's lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender community," said Rep. Debbie Wasserman Schultz (FL-20).

This year’s Honorary Host Committee includes:


Bill Nelson


Debbie Wasserman Schultz, Alcee Hastings , Ted Deutch, Frederica Wilson


Nan Rich, Jeremy Ring, Chris Smith, Eleanor Sobel, Maria Sachs


Ari Porth, Gwyn Clarke-Reed, Evan Jenne, Marty Kiar, Perry Thurston, Joe Gibbons, Franklin Sands, Darryl Rouson, Elaine Schwartz, Dwight Bullard


Al Lamberti – Sheriff, Mike Satz - State Attorney, Howard Forman - Clerk of Courts


Sue Gunzburger, John Rodstrom, Lois Wexler, Stacy Ritter, Dale Holness, Chip LaMarca, Barbara Sharief


Robin Bartleman, Nora Rupert, Laurie Rich Levinson, Ann Murray, Katie Leach, Maureen Dinnen, Robert Runcie - Superintendent


The Honorable Jack Sieler, The Honorable Gary Resnick, Tom Green, Julie Carson, The Honorable Suzanne Boisvenue, Anne Sallee, John Adornato, Shari L. McCartney, Le Peerman, Bryan Caletka, Paula Thaqi, M.D. and Kevin Beckner.

“We’re thrilled to have our largest ever Honorary Host Committee,” said Stratton Pollitzer, deputy executive director for Equality Florida Institute. “This is an amazing and unprecedented show of support for educating our state on issues that impact the lives of LGBT Floridians.”

The gala will also be an opportunity to honor two local Broward County heroes. Teri Williams and Michael Rajner will each receive the “Voice for Equality” award for their tireless work on behalf of Florida’s LGBT community. Teri is an educator inspired to action by the suicide of a student and has become the point person on LGBT issues in Broward Schools. Michael is a fearless LGBT advocate who once requested a meeting with his congressman by convincing a flight attendant to slip him a note. His mission was to talk about reducing anti-LGBT bullying in schools.

The 2011 Equality Florida Broward Gala promises to be a spectacular event and takes place November 13th at the Museum of Art / Ft. Lauderdale, 1 East Las Olas Boulevard, Ft. Lauderdale. Tickets for this elegant cocktail reception are just $125 and sponsorship opportunities begin at just $500. For more information, visit http://eqfl.org/browardgala/ or call Stratton Pollitzer at (954) 682-6094.

Equality Florida Institute is the largest civil rights educational organization dedicated to securing full equality for Florida’s lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender community.


TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference Sen. Bill Nelson, Rep. Debbie Wasserman Schultz to co-host Equality Florida 2011 Broward gala:


Feed You can follow this conversation by subscribing to the comment feed for this post.

The comments to this entry are closed.