« U.S. religious right presses anti-gay laws in Africa | Main | Muppets' Jim Henson Company drops partnership with Chick-fil-A after anti-gay marriage 'guilty' plea »

Equality Florida issues South Florida endorsements

Equality Florida today released its endorsements in the Aug. 14, 2012, South Florida primary:

Gwen Margolis (DEM)
Florida Senate District 35

(Miami Dade County)

Equality Florida Action PAC is proud to endorse Gwen Margolis for her re-election to the Florida Senate. Gwen has been a vocal supporter of LGBT equality for decades and co-sponsored multiple pro-LGBT bills during her time in the legislature. Gwen is also endorsed by the Florida Education Association, SEIU Florida and Florida Medical Association. If re-elected, Gwen will continue to fight for LGBT Floridians in the Senate.


Joe Gibbons (DEM)
Florida House District 100

(Broward County, Miami Dade County)

Joe Gibbons has been a consistent supporter of the LGBT community while in Tallahassee. Joe has co-sponsored bills to end Florida’s discriminatory ban on gay and lesbian adoption; ensure workplace protections for LGBT Floridians and to enact a statewide domestic partnership registry. Joe received a 100% rating on our candidate questionnaire and has also been endorsed by the Police Benevolent Association, AFL-CIO and the United Teachers of Dade.


Sharon Pritchett (DEM)
Florida House District 102

(Broward County, Miami Dade County)

Sharon Pritchett is running a strong campaign in the Democratic Primary for this open State House seat. From 2003-2011 Sharon served as the first citywide council member for the City of Miami Gardens. She was born and raised in Miami and served 28 years as an investigator in the Public Defender’s office. She received 100% on our candidate questionnaire and is also endorsed by the South Florida AFL-CIO, United Teachers of Dade and AFSCME.


Jose Javier Rodriguez (DEM)
Florida House District 112

(Broward County, Miami Dade County)

Jose Javier Rodriquez is running an exciting grassroots campaign to be the next Representative from District 112. Jose was a volunteer in the US Peace Corps and graduated from Harvard Law School. After graduation, he returned to Miami to give back to his community by working at Florida Legal Services, helping people who could not afford a lawyer. Jose received 100% rating on the Equality Florida candidate questionnaire and has been endorsed by AFL-CIO, SEIU and United Teachers of Dade.


David Richardson (DEM)
Florida House District 113

David Richardson is running to be the next state representative from Miami Beach and has an opportunity to become the first gay man elected to the Florida legislature. He has been a certified public accountant in Florida for the last 27 years and wants to go to Tallahassee to help eliminate wasteful spending. David has served as the President of the Miami Beach Condo Association, and on the Victory Campaign Board of the Gay and Lesbian Victory Fund. David is running in a winner takes all Democratic primary on August 14


Ken Keechl
Broward County Commission District 7

Ken Keechl made history in 2006 when he was elected as the first out gay county commissioner in Florida. While on the Broward County Commission Ken sponsored an amendment to Broward County’s Human Rights Act that added 'gender identity' as a protected class. Since then he has worked to enact numerous pro-LGBT policies in cities across Broward. Ken is also endorsed by the Police Benevolent Association and the Broward Firefighters and Paramedics.


Katherine Leach
Broward County School Board District 3

Katherine Leach has strongly supported the implementation of a comprehensive anti-bully policy in Broward County. Appointed to the School Board in 2011, Katherine is running for re-election. She received a 100% rating on our candidate questionnaire and is also by the Police Benevolent Association, Wilton Manors Mayor Gary Resnick and Ft. Lauderdale Mayor Jack Seiler.


Shelly Solomon
Broward County School Board District 4

Since 2007, Shelly Solomon has been a strong advocate for comprehensive anti-bully policies that include LGBT youth. In 2007 she was instrumental in the passage of Broward’s policy, which has served as a model for the state. Shelly has served as the co-chair of Broward County’s Anti-Bullying Task Force and on the Anti-Bias, Anti-Hate Task Force. If elected to the Broward County School Board, Shelly will continue to work to provide a safe learning environment for all students.


Franklin Sands
Broward County School Board District 8

During his service in the Florida legislature, Franklin Sands has been a proven ally to the LGBT community. He co-sponsored legislation to provide workplace protections to LGBT Floridians and legislation to create a statewide domestic partnership registry. Franklin received a 100% rating on our candidate questionnaire and has been endorsed by the Broward Teachers Union, AFL-CIO and the Police Benevolent Association.


Robin Bartleman
Broward County School Board District 9

Robin Bartleman is a true champion for LGBT youth as a school board member. During her time on the Broward School Board she fought hard to pass the state’s first fully inclusive anti-bully policy that includes protections for LGBT students. Robin has supported the creation of gay-straight alliances in school and supported the Day of Silence. She has received a 100% rating on the Equality Florida candidate questionnaire and we are proud to support her in her re-election efforts.


TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference Equality Florida issues South Florida endorsements:


Feed You can follow this conversation by subscribing to the comment feed for this post.

Verify your Comment

Previewing your Comment

This is only a preview. Your comment has not yet been posted.

Your comment could not be posted. Error type:
Your comment has been posted. Post another comment

The letters and numbers you entered did not match the image. Please try again.

As a final step before posting your comment, enter the letters and numbers you see in the image below. This prevents automated programs from posting comments.

Having trouble reading this image? View an alternate.


Post a comment