« North Miami makes a youthful statement | Main | All-State baseball: 3A and 4A »

All-State baseball teams: 1A and 2A

The Florida Sports Writers Association announced its 1A and 2A All-State baseball teams for 2008 on Monday. Here are the players honored from Miami-Dade and Broward:


  • First Team: David Vidal (P, Brito Miami Private).
  • Second Team: Chris Fabregas (OF, Brito Miami Private); Leonardo Rojas (DH, Brito Miami Private).
  • Third Team: Samuel Diaz (P, Brito Miami Private); Ricardo Espinal (OF, Brito Miami Private).
  • Honorable Mention: Yoenny Gonzalez (IF, Brito Miami Private); Manuel Machado (IF, Brito Miami Private).


  • First Team: Felix Roque (P, Miami Christian); Ethan Perla (Util, Highlands Christian).
  • Second Team: John Caballero (P, Dade Christian); Bryan Siddique (Util, Westminster Academy).
  • Third Team: Mitchell Buerosse (P, Highlands Christian); Jairo Acevedo (IF, Miami Christian); Jonathan Escarza (OF, Westminster Christian); Eric Saavedra (OF, Miami Christian).
  • Honorable Mention: Jonathan Kies (P, Highlands Christian); Nay Seldomridge (OF, Coral Springs Christian).

The 3A and 4A teams are coming Tuesday, followed by 5A and 6A on Wednesday.

--Patrick Dorsey (e-mail)