« More future stars on the way | Main | Pace QB shines in Ann Arbor »

Pahokee to defend 7-on-7 title this weekend

The 2007 Adidas 7-on-7 national champion Pahokee Blue Devils will head to Orlando to defend a title they won last year. Pahokee beat Daytona Beach Seabreeze last year, and will join area teams Boca Raton, Boyd Anderson, Dwyer, Gulliver Prep, Jupiter Christian and Southwest this Saturday and Sunday, June 28-29, at University of Central Florida.

More than 200 teams across the nation will compete in the Adidas 7-on-7 this summer. The top two Florida teams will advance to the national championship in Atlanta, July 30-31.

In addition the local teams competing, here is a list of the teams competing in Orlando:

· Atlantic High School (Port Orange)

· Centennial High School (Port St. Lucie)

· Clearwater Central Catholic High School

· Cypress Lake High School ( Fort Myers)

· Dr Phillips High School (Orlando)

· Eagle's View High School (Jacksonville)

· Father Lopez High School (Daytona Beach)

· Freedom High School (Tampa)

· Gainesville High School

· Gulf Coast High School (Naples)

· Jenkins High School (Lakeland)

· Jones High School (Orlando)

· Lake Gibson High School (Lakeland)

· Lake Mary High School

· Lely High School (Naples)

· Lyman High School (Longwood)

· New Smyrna Beach High School

· North Marion High School (Citra)

· Olympia High School (Orlando)

· Plant High School (Tampa)

· Seabreeze High School (Daytona Beach)

· Titusville High School

· Treasure Coast High School (Port St. Lucie)

· Walton High School (DeFuniak Springs)

· Winter Springs High School

· Wolfson High School (Jacksonville)

We will have coverage of the event for you on the blog and in the weekly column next week. Times of the event are: Saturday, June 28 (1 p.m.-5 p.m.)

Sunday, June 29 (10 a.m.-4 p.m.)