« Hosmer: Signing not imminent | Main | Cooper City's Kelly resigns »

Several Dade and Broward athletes and coaches honored

Hey fans,

Over the past 10 days, a bunch of Dade and Broward's top performers from a memorable season were honored by the Florida Dairy Farmers Association.

Over the years, the group has not given many awards to this talent-rich area, but this season has been different.

Pat Dorsey and I compiled a list. Enjoy.

   • Palmetto's Kelly Saco, who led her team to a state
championship, collected another prestigious honor recently
when she was named the Association's Softball Player of the

   Saco is the first Dade recipient of this award since its
inception in 1993. She finished with a 16-2 record, 168
strikeouts, six shutouts and a 0.40 ERA. Saco, The Miami
Herald's Class 6A Pitcher of the Year, will play this fall at
Syracuse this fall.

   • Southridge runners Brandon O'Connor and Ebony Eutsey were
named the Track and Field Athletes of the Year.

   O'Connor was a state champion in the 200 and 400-meter
races, finishing with some of the fastest times in the country
this season. He ran a 20.82 in the 200 and a 47.12 in the 400.

   His coach, Rodney Wright, was named the Overall Boys' Coach
of the Year. Wright led the Spartans to their first state
championship and his teams have not lost a dual meet in five

   Eutsey, who was recently named the Gatorade State Athlete
of the Year, ran a 23.79 in the 200 meters and a 53.85 in the
400 at state to win state titles in both. She recently ran the
fastest time in the nation (53.23) at an invitational meet
this summer.

   Her coach, Sam Burley, who is retiring this season and is a
member of the Florida High School Athletic Association Hall of
Fame, was named Overall Girls' Coach of the Year. Burley led
the Spartans to their first state title in five seasons.

   • Thanks to Cypress Bay star Brennan Boyajian, boys' coach
Vince Grossi and St. Thomas Aquinas girls coach Carol
Deopsomer, Broward County accounted for three of the four high
school tennis award winners announced Thursday.

   Boyajian, bound for the University of North Carolina this
fall, won the Boys' Player of the Year award after going
undefeated and winning the 4A overall singles title. Grossi,
who led Boyajian and the Lightning to the 4A boys' team title,
took Boys' Coach of the Year honors.

   Deopsomer, who led the Raiders to their second consecutive
3A girls' title, won Girls' Coach of the Year. Only Girls'
Player of the Year Jacqueline Kasler of Gulf Breeze -- the 2A
state champion who edged finalists Amelia Martinez (Cypress
Bay; 4A overall singles winner) and Courtney Clayton (St.
Thomas Aquinas; 3A overall singles champion) -- kept Broward
from sweeping the awards.

   • Southwest senior outside hitter Jonathan Roldan was named
the Boys' Volleyball State Player of the Year after posting
459 kills, 107 aces, 157 digs and 63 blocks. Also The Miami
Herald's Player of the Year for Dade, guiding the Eagles to a
state championship.

   His coach Mauricio Diaz was named the Coach of the Year
after winning his second state title in six seasons after
leading Southwest to a 27-2 record. He has a career record of
230-31 and has led the Eagles to the state tournament four

For a full list of winners chosen for the 2007-08 School Year, go to www.floridamilk.com/sports