« 4A FINAL: Tampa Plant 34, Tallahassee Lincoln 14! | Main | Gartrell Johnson MVP of New Mexico Bowl »

6A FINAL: Sanford Seminole 28, Northwestern 21!

ORLANDO -It may have been just one play, but that play with :33 seconds left in the 6A state championship game, when Ray Ray Armstrong found senior receiver Andre Debose from 40 yards out, was enough for Sanford Seminole to upset the two-time defending state champion Northwestern Bulls, 28-21 at the Citrus Bowl.

The loss was only the second in three years for a Northwestern team that was favored to become the first large school in the state to win three consecutive state titles.

The Northwestern Bulls wasted little time getting on the board. On the very first play from scrimmage, sophomore quarterback Teddy Bridgewater hot junior Michael Lee Harris with a 72-yard touchdown stirke and a 7-0 lead.

Northwestern moved out to a 13-0 lead with 5:53 left in the opening quarter when senior Wayne Times, running out of the quarterback position, kept it from the 1.

The Bulls closed out the first quarter scoring when Bridgewater hit the versatile Times with a 47-yard pass for a score. Bridgewater's two-point conversion made it 21-0.

Seminole got on the board with 11:04 left in the first half when Armstrong went 26 yards for the score.

The Seminoles cut the lead to 21-14 with 5:28 left in thr third quarter on a 6-yard run by Debose.

Seminole tied the game at 21-21 with :23 left in the third quarter on 1 yard run by Debose, and then the Seminoles took their final shot into the endzone and came up a winner.

Northwestern 21 0 0 0--21
Seminole 0 7 14 7--28
NW - Michael Lee Harris 72 pass from Teddy Bridgewater (Eli Rogers kick), 11:43 (1) 7-0
NW - Wayne Times 1 run (Kick blocked), 5:53 (1), 13-0
NW - Wayne Times 47 pass from Teddy Bridgewater (Bridgewater run), :31 (1), 21-0
S - Ray Ray Armstrong 26 run (Eric Farkas kick), 11:31 (2), 21-7
S - Andre Debose 6 run (Eric Farkas kick), 5:28 (3), 21-14
S - Andre Debose 1 run (Eric Farkas kick), :23 (3), 21-21
S - Andre Debose 40 pass from Ray Ray Armstrong (Eric Farkas kick), :33 (4), 28-21