« Apr. 25 football camp/combine is now set | Main | Here come the South Florida Express! »

Dade gets the best of Broward - again!

DAVIE – It was billed as the match of the night. Kendrick Sanders, 3A state champion from South Dade, who is rated No. 1 in the nation in the 145-pound class, against 1A state champion Frank Pettineo, who finished the regular season unbeaten. It certainly lived up to its billing!

Sanders won an impressive 8-0 decision over Pettineo in the 11th Annual Miami-Dade/Broward Wrestling Challenge at Nova. Miami-Dade registered a 79-21 win over Broward.

The win was just another for Sanders, who finished his high school career with three state titles.

While the match was close at 3-0 in the third period, Sanders remained in control, scoring five more points down the stretch to close out the win.

Sanders, who won the MVP for the Miami-Dade County team, came up with a second win on the night when he beat Miguel Rodriguez of Ely, 8-0. It was another match in which he rook control from the start.

“It was a great career,” said Sanders. “I will always look back on these years and know that they were very special.”

Miami-Dade opened the evening when Dr. Krop’s Tal Cohen scored a 6-2 decision over Andy Ball of St. Thomas.

Broward got on the board when Domingo Simmons defeated Mauricio Villenueva of South Dade, 9-5.

South Dade state champion Willie Wiggins went deep into the second period when he pinned Jefson Nelson of Boyd Anderson to give Miami-Dade a commanding lead. State champion Wilson Metelus also showed why he is one of the best when he defeated Durvan Thompson of Boyd Anderson, 17-2 for 41-14 lead.

The Miami-Dade team continued to put the pressure on all evening with big wins up and down the lineup.

Simmons was awarded the MVP for the Broward squad.

Miami-Dade leads the series 11-0.


103 – Tal Cohen (Dr. Krop) d. Andy Ball (St. Thomas), 6-2; 112 – Javier Carbajal (S. Dade) d. Alex Chircosta (Douglas), 4-1, Kevin Guzman (Miami) d. Sean Donelly (St. Thomas), 5-4; 119 – Domingo Simmons (Gibbons) d. Mauricio Villenueva (S. Dade), 9-5, Matt Barrera (M. Springs) p. Zach Lebovich, 3:19; 125 – Paul Marcello (Gibbons) d. Jonathon Olivera (Southwest), 12-8, Alex Abramat (Cypress Bay) tf. 19-4; 130 – Gunnar Magliocca (St. Thomas) d. Alian Espinosa (Pace), 2-1 (OT), George Gulesian (Columbus) d. Chris Andrade (Gibbons), 11-4; 135 – Jake Rio (Columbus) p. Gerald Torres (Everglades), 1:25, Wilson Metelus (S. Dade), tf. Durvan Thompson (Boyd Anderson), 17-2; 140 – Marcial Rodriguez (Mater) d. Michael Sabbag (Everglades), 14-9, Robert Ruiz (HML) d. Jovan Condrey (Gibbons), 10-6; 145 – Kendrick Sanders (S. Dade) d. Frank Pettineo (Gibbons), 8-0; 152 – Tony Castro (HML) d. Ronnie Talledo (Taravella), 3-2; 160 – Victor Boyd (Stranahan) md. Julien Gomez (Coral Park), 12-4, Josh Comer (Homestead) md. J.C. Velasco (Coral Springs), 12-3, Luke Weiss (St. Thomas) d. Oxsun Ramirez (Southwest), 5-2; 171 – Antonio Starr (HML) d. Jared Nuby (S. Broward), 6-2; 189 – Jonathon Fernandez (Sunset), d. Mike DiPierro (Cooper City), 12-7, Kieffer Scott (Pace) d. Ryan Conley (Western), 10-4; 215 – Willie Wiggins (S. Dade), p. Jefson Nelson (Boyd Anderson), 3:45, David Castillo (American) p. Ariel Klein (Cooper City), 4:35; 285 – Bernard Barnes (Carol City) p. Aaron Thompson (Fort Lauderdale), 1:34, Nick Stevens (Coral Springs) md. Larry Wilson (Miami High), 15-3