« GMAC baseball today has been moved! | Main | Inspirational Carl Joseph, the first one-legged athlete to be inducted to Florida High School Sports Hall of Fame »

South Fla. Touchdown Club F.A.M.E. awards

All South Florida residents are invited to join South Florida Touchdown Club members when they host their annual F.A.M.E. Awards Banquet. The event, which honors the top high school athletes and coaches from Miami-Dade County for their accomplishments during the past season, will be held at the Miami Springs Golf and Country Club on Thursday, Apr. 30 beginning at 6:30 p.m. with a reception and cash bar followed by the dinner and program at 7:15 p.m.

With University of Miami color commentator Don Bailey Jr. serving as Master of Ceremonies, special presentations will include 2008 Outstanding High School Offensive Player in Classes 1A-3A and Classes 4A-6A, and 2008 Outstanding High School Defensive Player split in the same classes as well. Also presented will be the 2008 Joe Brodsky High School Coach of the Year Award.

The F.A.M.E. (Football Awards Miami Edition) Awards are part of Operation Scholarship, the touchdown club’s program that raises money for college scholarships for high school athletes around the area.

Tickets are $50 per person or $450 for a table of 10. For more information or to make your reservation, call the club’s hotline number at 305-477-1815 or visit their website at www.southfloridatouchdownclub.com.

This year's winners are as follows:
1A – 3A Offensive Player of the Year: Rodney Smith, WR, Archbishop Carroll (Committed to Florida State).

1A – 3A Defensive Player of the Year: Frankie Telfort, LB, Gulliver Prep. (Commited to USC).
4A – 6A Offensive Player of the Year: Lamar Miller, RB, Killian. (Committed to University of Miami)
4A – 6A Defensive Player of the Year: Cory Henry, DE, Miami Carol City (Committed to FAU).