« Broward North vs. South Stats | Main | Florida HS Player of the Year »

Florida HS Coach-of-the-Year

GAINESVILLE - Orlando Dr. Phillips High School’s Dale Salapa was named the 2010 Florida Dairy Farmers Football Coach-of-the-Year following a final round of voting by a statewide panel of high school football coaches and media representatives.

Salapa is the 19th winner of the annual award sponsored by Florida Dairy Farmers and the Florida Athletic Coaches Association to honor the top high school football coach for the 2010 season.

Coach Salapa’s team won its third straight district championship on its way to a 14-0 record and a spot in the Class 6A state championship game. At Dr. Phillips, coach Salapa has a 35-3 record and an overall career record of 77-37.

Salapa, who was previously named Class 6A Coach-of-the-Year, finished with eight first-place votes and 144 points, finishing ahead of Class 2A Coach-of-the-Year Mike Coe of Madison County who was runner-up with 98 points. Class 4A Coach-of-the-Year Dan Burke of Palm Bay finished third with 97 points. Class 5A Coach-of-the-Year Jeff Webb of Fleming Island finished fourth with 92 points, followed by 1A Coach-of-the-Year Jemalle Cornelius of Fort Meade (88), 2B Coach-of-the-Year Roger Harriott of Davie University (87), 3A Coach-of-the-Year Joey Wiles of St. Augustine (86) and 1B Coach-of-the-Year Andy Price of Warner Christian Academy (62).

The Florida Dairy Farmers Sports Awards program exemplifies the Florida Dairy Farmers’ commitment to the state's youth. While honoring the state’s top athletes and coaches in all 26 FHSAA-sanctioned sports for the 19th consecutive year, the program also emphasizes to young people the importance of keeping dairy products a primary part of their diet in their overall nutrition plan.

2010 Final Voting
Player 1 2 3 Total
Dale Salapa 8 3 6 144
Mike Coe 3 3 2 98
Dan Burke 2 4 1 97
Jeff Webb 2 3 3 92
Jemalle Cornelius 2 1 1 88
Roger Harriott 2 2 2 87
Joey Wiles 1 2 3 86
Andy Price 0 1 1 62

Point totals based on: 1st place (10), 2nd place (7), 3rd place (6), 4th place (5), 5th place (4), 6th place (3), 7th place (2) and 8th place (1). Only first through third place votes are shown above.

Football Coach-of-the-Year Winners:
1992 – Wally Dunne, Coral Springs
1993 – Paul Maechtle, Bradenton Southeast
1994 – Rod Shafer, Lake Wales
1995 – Bob Withrow, Jacksonville Sandalwood
1996 – Robby Pruitt, Union County
1997 – Danny Green, Lake City Columbia
1998 – Bill Castle, Lakeland
1999 – Milton Watson, Glades Central
2000 – Nick Coleman, Venice
2001 – Al Morrell, Clewiston
2002 – Richard Wood, Tampa Wharton
2003 – Bill Kramer, Naples
2004 – Bill Castle, Lakeland
2005 – Joey Wiles, St. Augustine
2006 – Robert Weiner, Tampa Plant
2007 – Billy Rolle, Miami Northwestern
2008 – Robert Weiner, Tampa Plant
2009 – John Wilkinson, Cocoa


Feed You can follow this conversation by subscribing to the comment feed for this post.


For the life of me I do NOT know why George Smith has not been given a Coach of the Year Award this year.... One of his best jobs.

The comments to this entry are closed.