« Florida HS Coach-of-the-Year | Main | 5A FINAL: St. Thomas 29, Plant 7 »

Florida HS Player of the Year

GAINESVILLE - Tampa Jefferson senior quarterback Quentin Williams was named the 2010 Florida Dairy Farmers Mr. Football following a final round of voting by a statewide panel of high school football coaches and media representatives.

Williams is the 19th winner of the annual award sponsored by Florida Dairy Farmers and the Florida Athletic Coaches Association to honor the top high school football player for the 2010 season.

During the 2010 season, Williams threw for 4,399 yards on 203-of-310 passing and 52 touchdowns, while also rushing for 840 yards on 150 attempts and eight touchdowns, leading his team to a 14-0 record and a spot in the Class 3A state championship game. Williams now owns the state record for career passing touchdowns and career passing yardage in the state of Florida.

Williams, who was earlier named Class 3A Player-of-the-Year for the second year in a row, finished with six first-place votes and 137 points, ahead of Class 6A Player-of-the-Year Demetrius Hart of Orlando Dr. Phillips, who was the runner-up with 128 points. Class 5A Player-of-the-Year James Wilder of Tampa Plant was third with 119 points followed by Class 4A Player-of-the-Year Mike Bellamy of Charlotte (115), 2B Player-of-the-Year Derrick Henry of Yulee (80), 2A Player-of-the-Year, Chevelle Buie of Cocoa (61), 1B Player-of-the-Year Trey Pendergrass of Jupiter Christian (60) and 1A Player-of-the-Year Mike West of Dixie County with 58 points.

The Florida Dairy Farmers Sports Awards program exemplifies the Florida Dairy Farmers’ commitment to the state's youth. While honoring the state’s top athletes and coaches in all 26 FHSAA-sanctioned sports for the 19th consecutive year, the program also emphasizes to young people the importance of keeping dairy products a primary part of their diet in their overall nutrition plan.

2010 Final Voting
Player 1 2 3 Total
Quentin Williams 6 4 4 137
Demetrius Hart 6 3 3 128
James Wilder 5 5 1 119
Mike Bellamy 2 4 6 115
Derrick Henry 1 2 0 80
Chevelle Buie 0 1 1 61
Trey Pendergrass 0 0 2 60
Mike West 0 0 2 58

Point totals based on: 1st place (10), 2nd place (7), 3rd place (6), 4th place (5), 5th place (4), 6th place (3), 7th place (2) and 8th place (1). Only first through third place votes are shown above.

Mr. Football Winners
1992 - Jammi German, Ft. Myers
1993 - Shevin Wiggins, Bradenton Manatee
1994 - Daunte Culpepper, Ocala Vanguard
1995 - Frankie Franklin, Jacksonville Sandalwood
1996 - Travis Henry, Frostproof
1997 - Zain Gilmore, Tampa Robinson
1998 - Anquan Boldin, Pahokee
1999 - Willie Green, Kissimmee Osceola
2000 - Adrian McPherson, Bradenton Southeast
2001 - Leon Washington, Jacksonville Jackson
2002 - Andre Reese, Pierson Taylor
2003 - Xavier Lee, Daytona Seabreeze
2004 - Antone Smith, Pahokee
2005 – Tim Tebow, Ponte Vedra Nease
2006 – Robert Marve, Tampa Plant
2007 – Jacory Harris, Miami Northwestern
2008 – A.J. Graham, Tallahassee Godby
2009 – Matt Elam, William T. Dwyer


Feed You can follow this conversation by subscribing to the comment feed for this post.


Must be nice to be a kid playing ball outside of South Florida .... Get to play inferior competition and pad your stats ... Funny how year in and year out the same programs are on top in Tampa, Tally, Orlando, Jax .... Yet in Miami ... You grind it out against some of the toughest teams and athletes in the country week in and week out.

The above list is a joke ...

The comments to this entry are closed.