« Miami Jackson DB Robenson Therezie commits to Auburn | Main | Southridge's Holliman switches to Louisville; Dillard's Lyons picks Stanford »

Dolphins Dade vs. Broward, Jan. 14

The Inaugural Miami Dolphins Dade vs. Broward All-Star Football Game presented by Under Armour and hosted by the Greater Miami Athletic Conference (GMAC) and the Broward County Athletic Association (BCAA) will be held at Traz Powell Stadium located at 11380 NW 27th Ave in Miami, FL 33167 on Friday, January 14th at 7:00pm. The game will feature stand-out student athletes from Miami-Dade and Broward counties. All proceeds from the game will be distributed between both counties to help support the funding of their athletic programs. Admission to the game will be $10. Advanced ticket sales are not available. The game is endorsed by the Broward and Dade County School Boards, as well as the Miami Dolphins.

“This game is about two things, helping athletes showcase their talents to have an opportunity to get to college and raise dollars for the BCAA and the GMAC to ensure schools have the resources they need to compete equally, “ said Twan Russell, Director of Youth Programs for the Miami Dolphins. “One hundred percent of the dollars will benefit the counties directly which is a great boost for the community and in line with the organization’s efforts to make a positive impact with youth programs in South Florida.”

Coach Mark Guandolo of Cypress Bay High School will coach the Broward All-Star Team and Coach Daryle Heidelburg of Miami Norland Senior High School will lead the Dade All-Star Team. The coaches and athletes selected to participate in the game were selected by GMAC staff, BCAA staff, along with high school coaches and members of the media from both counties.

Under Armour is the inaugural title sponsor of the Dade vs. Broward All- Star Game and will supply both teams with uniforms for the game.

“Under Armour’s commitment to high school football is an integral part of our mission, said Leon Duncan, Under Armour’s director of Retail Media. “South Florida is one of the most important football environments in the United States. We want to do our part to make sure athletes have the ability to compete and they have the resources needed to do so at a high level.”

The counties will battle for the bragging rights for a year and the coveted county championship trophy. The annual game will alternate between the host locations of Traz Powell Stadium in Dade County and Lockhart Stadium Broward County.

“This game is an extension of the commitment we have to our student athletes, giving them opportunities to showcase their talents to colleges,” said Damian Huttenhoff, Director of Activities and Athletics for the BCAA. “We pride ourselves in helping all athletes reach their maximum potential.”

“We are excited about making this an annual event,” added Cheryl A. Golden, Instructional Supervisor for the GMAC. “We feel anytime you can positively impact our communities by raising dollars for sports and giving kids opportunities to better themselves is the right thing to do.”

Both teams began practice on Wednesday, January 5th.

Dade County Practice schedule (Traz Powell 11380 NW 27th Ave Miami, FL:
Wednesday, January 5 through Thursday, January 13, 2011 – 5:00 to 7:00 p.m.
Broward County Practice Schedule (Dillard High School 2501 NW 11th St Ft. Lauderdale, FL):

Wednesday, January 5 through Thursday, January 13, 2011 – 4:30 to 6:30 p.m.

Coaching Staff

Daryle Heidelburg – Miami Norland, Head Coach
Darryl Baker – Miami Norland
Darryle Bethune, North Miami
Torriano Brooks – Miami Norland
Harold Cole – Dade Schools Athletic Foundation
David Conney, Coral Reef
Jose Stewart, Miami Norland
Tim Everson, Miami Norland
Larry McFarley, Ronald Reagan
Anthony Saunders, Miami Springs
Wes Keller – Columbus
Jovani McCray – South Dade
Ritchy Desir – NMB          
Anthony Clark – Palmetto
Sterling Darling – Miami Coral Park
RUNNING BACKS               
Collin Alford – Columbus
Deangelo James – American
Bill Kenzy – Braddock
Andre Oneil – Miami High               
Shawn Corbett – Varela  
Trevor Ishmael – North Miami Beach
Darian Peters – Dr. Krop 
Dominique Rhymes – Northwestern            
Dimitri Stimphil – South Dade
TIGHT ENDS               
Kendel Lafluer – American              
Mark Bernard – Miami Edison
John Dennis – Columbus 
Charles Fleming – Hialeah              
Chris Lopes – Ronald Reagan                         
Pierre Maignan – Miami Norland  
Kent Mertens – South Dade           
Gabriel Pou – Coral Gables
Alex Rodriguez – Hialeah Gardens
Cleveland Smith, North Miami Beach
Jordan Thomas – Coral Reef          
Daniel Bauta – South Miami           
Kenneth Bromell – American         
Michel Charles – South Dade         
Theiren Cockran – Homestead
Devonte Forbes – Dr. Krop
Britton Hall – Homestead               
Joseph Montgomery – Miami Beach
Tommy Myles – Miami Southridge
Vicente Jackson – North Miami     
Matt Larrubia – Columbus              
Andew Pittman – Miami Killian
Marcus Pyron – Miami Beach        
Edwin Rodriguez – Southwest Miami
Jermaine Reve – Miami Northwestern
Michael Dock – Coral Gables
Andre Guillaume – Miami Edison  
Leo Borba – Ferguson
Ivan Toomer – Homestead
Darryl Brown – American
Anthony Clark – Palmetto
Coaching Staff

Mark Guandolo – Cypress Bay (Head Coach)       
Joe Courcelle – Cypress Bay                               
Doug Dutton – Cypress Bay                               
Josue Uribe – Cypress Bay                                 
Boomer Bray – Cypress Bay                               
Donnell Bennett - Northeast
James Clyburn – Boyd Anderson
Fred Flowers – Northeast
Roger Harriot – University School
Chris Wagner – West Broward
Antwon Chaney – Cypress Bay
Imonni Carswell – Plantation
Douglas Cook – University
Dane James – Boyd Anderson                             
Danny Epstein – Cypress Bay                             
Shaquille Kearse – Miramar
Denzel Wimberly – Cardinal Gibbons      
WIDE RECEIVERS                                                            
Robby Anderson – South Plantation
Curt Evans – Chaminade
Reggie McKnight – Hollywood Hills
Jessie York – Boyd Anderson
Anthony Williams – Boyd Anderson
TIGHT ENDS                                                                    
Mike Frattiani - West Broward   
Mario Pannunzio – Cypress Bay  
Reed Webster – Taravella
Patrick Bailey – Dillard
Lebert Barrett – Plantation
Scott Boyette – South Broward
Jordan Burdi – Miramar
Russel Haughton James – Heritage
Kyle Jossfolk – Cypress Bay
Shernard Martin – Stranahan
Andy Moas – West Broward
Greg Rozier – Ely
Brandon Schoenthal – Cypress Bay
Alvin Arnold – Hollywood Hills
Grant Burke – West Broward
Dominick Lopez – Taravella
Shaun Ward – Boyd Anderson
Patrick Williams – University
Zach Wilson – Cypress Bay
Markies Hall – Miramar
Ken Hankerson – St. Thomas
Kurt Joseph – South Plantation   
Enzo Nitty – Cypress Bay
Kent Turene – Boyd Anderson
Michael Williamson – Deerfield Beach
Devon Gaulden – University
Courtney Hall – Ely
Stevenson Montgomery – Miramar
Nick North – McArthur
Seitu Smith – Deerfield Beach
Cory Tinale - Boyd Anderson
Alex Belmonte – Cypress Bay
Justin Duvernois – St. Thomas