« 3A FINAL: American Heritage 30, Madison County 3 | Main | Joe Pinkos Forecast - Week 16 »

4A FINAL: Jacksonville Bolles 33, Miami BT Washington 25

ORLANDO - The 4A Florida state football championship between Miami Booker T. Washington and Jacksonville Bolles is over, and a solid fourth quarter by the Bulldogs have beaten the Tornadoes, 33-25 at the Citrus Bowl. The Bulldogs got on the board first on a 35-yard field goal by Brooks Abbott. But the Tornadoes came right back using a 3 yard pass play from sophomore Treon Harris to Dvon Ballard. Bolles regained the lead when D.J. Stewart took over from the one with 9:47 left in the first half. The Tornadoes grabbed the lead back on a 19-yard field goal. The lead was extended to 17-9 when Harris ran it in from the 10. Bolles kept the pressure on and cut the lead back to 17-12 when Abbott connected from 40 yards. The Tornadoes extended the lead to 25-12 on a 5-yard run by Harris and a two-point conversion from Harris to Larry Mathis. But then it was all Bolles. Milton Revell's 4-yard run made it 25-19, Tim Betros had a 5-yard run to give Bolles a 26-25 advantage. Then, the back-breaker for Booker T. Washington came when they fumbled in the endzone and Cody Boswell recovered and a 33-25 lead. Jacksonville Bolles 3- 9 - 0 -21 - 33 Booker T. Washington 7 - 10 - 8 - 0 --25 JB - Brooks Abbott 35 field goal, 3-0. BT - Dvon Ballard 3 pass from Treon Harris (Milton Salgado kick), 7-3 JB - D.J. Stewart 1 run (kick failed), 9-7 BT - Milton Salgado 19 fg, 10-9 BT - Treon Harris 10 run (Milton Salgado kick), 17-9 JB - Brooks Abbott 40 fg, 17-12 BT - Treon Harris 5 run (Larry Mathis from Treon Harris), 25-12 JB - Milton Revell 4 run (Brooks Abbott kick), 25-19 JB - Tim Betros 5 run (Brooks Abbott kick), 26-25 JB - Cody Boswell 1 fumble return (Brooks Abbott kick), 33-25 A- 2,075