« 6A FINAL Armwood 40, Miami Central 31 | Main | Joe Pinkos Power Rating - 2011 Finale »

8A State Final: Tampa Plant 31, Miramar 20

ORLANDO -The Tampa Plant Panthers are the 8A state champions. The Panthers beat Miramar 31-20 at the Citrus Bowl.

The Panthers (13-1) took the lead with 9:45 left in the first quarter when Wesley Bullock took it in from 21 yards out and a 7-0 advantage.

The Patriots used a fumbled punt to set up the first score of the night in the first quarter when D'Vontis Arnold took it in from the 2 with 8:04 left, tying the game at 7.

Tampa Plant came back with 4:03 left in the first quarter, taking advantage of a turnover to take a 14-7 lead when quarterback James Few took it in from the 8.

The Panthers extended the lead to 17-7 with 9:28 left in the first half on a 37-yard field goal by Grant Van Aman.

With 1:05 left in the first half, the Panthers extended the lead to 24-7 on a 1-yard run by Mike Tate.

The Patriots finally stopped the Panthers and turned it into points when Camren Hudge found University of Miami commit Malcolm Lewis from 31 yards out with 2:40 left in the third quarter.

Miramar cut the lead to 24-20 with 2:00 left in the third quarter on a 27-yard pass play from Hudge to Tanares Robinson.

The Panthers moved the score to 31-20 with 6:07 left in the fourth quarter when Tate Rogers recoved a fumble in the endzone.

Plant 14 - 10 - 0 - 7 - 31
Miramar 7 - 0 - 13 - 0 -20
P - Wesley Bullock 21 run (Grant Van Aman kick), 7-0.
M - D'Vontis Arnold 2 run (Malik Wisdom kick), 7-7.
P - James Few 8 run (Grant Van Aman kick), 14-7.
P - Grant Van Aman 37 field goal, 17-7.
P - Mike Tate 1 (Grant Van Aman kick), 24-7.
M - Malcolm Lewis 31 pass from Camren Hudge (Malik Wisdom kick), 24-14
M - Tanares Robinson 27 pass from Camren Hudge (kick blocked), 24-20
P - Tate Rogers recovers fumble in the end zone. (Grant Van Aman kick), 31-20.

A - 4,176