« Clark, Nelson and Leach on radio tonight | Main | Dillard girls' basketball coach Marcia Pinder named National Coach of the Year »

Miami-Dade vs. Broward All-Star Wrestling

The annual BCAA sponsored Miami-Dade vs. Broward All-Star Wrestling event will take place on Thursday night (7:00), March 1st at South Broward High in Hollywood.

Last year, Broward County won the event for the first time in its 13 year history that has watched the showcase move from Flanagan to Nova and for the third year to South Broward.

Miami-Dade has a pair of state champs in the meet on Thursday. Southwest Miami 145-pounder Yoanse Mejia and South Dade 220-pound standout William Ford.

Among the state champs from Broward County will be unbeaten Archbishop McCarthy 160-pounder Javier Rodriguez and Cardinal Gibbons two-time champ Andrew Wisdom.

Both counties did very well this year during the season and at the state meet. Here is a look at who is expected to see some action in this post-season event that features state champs and state placers.

106: Ray Moreno (Monsignor Pace), Terrance Gary (Dr. Krop) and Joseph Garcia (Miami High).
113: Dieuminse Dore (Homestead), Chris Alfaro (Doral Academy) and Emilio Chacon (Miami High).
120: Isaiah Varona (South Dade) and Juan Nogues (Coral Reef). 
126: Esteban Gomez-Rivera (Belen Jesuit), Mack Predelus (N. Miami Beach) and Carlos Flores (Reagan).
132: Alejandro Sancho (South Miami) and Kevin Epstein (Southwest Miami).
138: Joe Sennett (Monsignor Pace) and Juan Herrera (Reagan).
145: Yoanse Mejia (Southwest Miami) and Ramiro Rojas (South Dade).
152: Lorenzo Walker (Southwest Miami), Blair Faust (South Dade), Christian Gomez (Goleman) and Devante Larmond (Homestead),
160: Joseph Roy (Palmetto), Daniel Sanchez (Southwest Miami), Luis Cepero (Coral Park) and Chris Silva (South Dade).
170: Daniel Saintil (South Dade) and Eddie Mora (Columbus).
182: Abraham Alvarado (Reagan) and Steve Perez (Southwest Miami).
195: Christian Hill (South Dade) and Joel Barrientos (Goleman).
220: William Ford (South Dade) and Francisco Menendez (Goleman).
285: Demetri Jones (Homestead), Alexander Cruz-Smith (Jackson) and Khulsen Saruultuya (Southwest Miami).

106: Drew Hunt (Western).
113: Nick Cristos (Deerfield Beach).
120: Ryan Kuse (Everglades), Kyle Eggnatz (Coral Springs) and Chaz Sapp (Deerfield Beach).
126: Curtis Boyette (Coral Springs) and Brandon Conroy (Somerset).
132: Bryan Bettencourt (South Broward), Nick Perez (St. Thomas) and Jahlani Callender (Calvary Chistian).
138: Andrew Wisdom (Cardinal Gibbons) and Sheldon Smith (Plantation).
145: Kevin Kobayashi (Monarch) and Daniel Colatorti (Chaminade-Madonna).
152: Victor Alfaro (Cardinal Gibbons), Dakota Concepcion (Cypress Bay), James Mitchell and Austin Parkes (Stranahan).
160: Javier Rodriguez (Archbishop McCarthy), Alex Rosa (Coral Springs Charter), Derrick Walker (McArthur) and Carvens Joseph (Blanche Ely).
170: Matthew Lent (Cooper City) and Felipe Sousa (Taravella).
182: Anthony Macias (Coral Springs) and Robert Kratman (Chaminade-Madonna).
195: Samuel Adams (Chaminade-Madonna) and Giovanni Santoro (Cypress Bay).
220: Justin Smith (Flanagan) and David Lima (Calvary Christian).
285: Gavin Ricketts (Western) and Nick Simoneau (Nova).