« South Dade receiver Tyre Brady orally commits to the University of Miami | Main | Winning scratch-off ticket worth $2,000 helps pay for Champagnat's bus ride to state football finals »

Heritage's Sony Michel named state's Gatorade Player of the Year, becomes fifth from Broward to earn honor

American Heritage running back Sony Michel became the fifth Broward County player and first since St. Thomas Aquinas offensive lineman Sam Young in 2005 to be named the state's Gatorade Player of the Year in football on Thursday.

The 5-foot-11, 205-pound senior running back has run for 1,602 yards and 18 touchdowns on 186 carries this season and led the Patriots (12-1) to only their second trip to the state semifinals. Heritage plays at Lake Wales on Friday.

Michel has maintained a 3.88 weighted GPA in the classroom, and has donated his time as a mentor and anti-bullying advocate for younger student-athletes in the community, Gatorade said in its press release.

“Sony’s consistency over the last four years at American Heritage has stood out to me, because it’s hard to be so good for so long,” said Patriots head coach Mike Rumph. “Sony is also very humble and doesn’t let the fame get to his head.”

Michel committed to the University of Georgia and said Wednesday after practice he still intends to head to Athens.


1985: Willis Peguese, LB, Miami Southridge (University of Miami)
1986: x-Emmitt Smith, RB, Pensacola Escambia (University of Florida)
1987: Derek Brown, TE/LB, Merritt Island (Notre Dame)

1988: Richard McKenzie, LB, Boyd Anderson (Penn State)
1989: Lateef Travis, LB, Pensacola Pine Forrest (Florida State University)
1990: x-Marquette Smith, RB, Winter Park Lake Howell (FSU)
1991: Danny Kanell, QB, Westminster Academy (FSU)
1992: Thad Busby, QB, Pace (FSU)
1993: Lamont Green, LB, Miami Southridge (FSU)
1994: Martavious Houston, LB, Boyd Anderson (Auburn)
1995: Sheddrick Gurley, LB, Tallahassee Godby (Florida)
1996: Kenny Kelly, QB, Tampa Catholic (UM)
1997: Ernest Graham, RB, Cape Coral Mariner (Florida)
1998: Anquan Boldin, QB, Pahokee (FSU)
1999: Willis McGahee, RB, Miami Central (UM)
2000: Adrian McPherson, QB, Bradenton Southeast (FSU)
2001: Gavin Dickey, QB, Tallahassee Lincoln (Florida)
2002: Ernie Sims, LB, Tallahassee North Florida Christian (FSU)
2003: Keith Rivers, LB, Lake Mary (University of Southern California)

2004: Kenny Phillips, DB, Miami Carol City (UM)
2005: Sam Young, OL, St.Thomas Aquinas (Notre Dame)
2006: x-John Brantley, QB, Ocala Trinity Christian (Florida)
2007: Brandon Harris, DB, Miami Booker T. Washington (UM)
2008: Jacobbi McDaniel, DL, Madison County (FSU)
2009: Matt Elam, LB/RB, Palm Beach Gardens Dwyer (UF)
2010: Jeff Driskel, QB, Hagerty (UF)
2011: Will Likely, DB, Belle Glade Glades Central (Maryland)
2012: Derrick Henry, RB, Yulee (Alabama)
2013: Sony Michel, RB, Plantation American Heritage (Georgia)


Feed You can follow this conversation by subscribing to the comment feed for this post.


I occasionally have a chance to visit with some of the area high school coaches in Dade and Broward Counties. Yesterday I had an opportunity to visit with several coaches preparing their teams for the trip to Orlando. I want to say that these men are the unsung heroes in our communities because of the work they do with the young men they coach and mentor.

These are men of high character, moral values and the kind of folks we want our kids being taught and coached by.

Coaches Tunsil, Drummond of Champagnat, Dennis Marroguin of Hialeah, Neloms of Carol City and I do a dis-service not mentioning them all but these folks deserve a lot of credit for when a kid leaves drugs, gangs and other evils behind because of their influence.

A shout out to all you guys and the great work you do!


Joe Yearby & Dalvin Cook had more yards & tds. I wonder who voted for this award?

John Lawrence

Thanks for committing to the Dawgs, we look forward to seeing you " Tween the Hedges"!

The comments to this entry are closed.