Note: This blog's templates will be updated this afternoon to a responsive design bringing it in line with

At that time, we will also change to the Facebook commenting system. You will need to log in with a Facebook account in order to comment.

« John McCain on Cuba | Main | Crist caps off first month by unveiling proposed budget »

Campaign for Broward GOP chairman is on

In the running for chairman of the Broward Republican Party: Chip LaMarca and Levi Williams.

Chairman Shane Strum has stepped down to serve as deputy secretary for the Department of Management Services. The election will be Feb. 26.

If elected, Williams would be the local party's first black chairman. The Fort Lauderdale attorney was one of the leaders in a lawsuit against the Broward County public schools that argued that minority children had been relegated to inferior schools. He has served as general counsel to the local party and as chairman of the Broward County Board of Trustees. He was an outspoken supporter of Gov. Charlie Crist during his recent campaign.

So was LaMarca, who made the controversial motion for the local party to endorse Crist over Tom Gallagher during the GOP primary. He was elected to the Lighthouse Point City Commission two years ago.

"It should be a very sprited process,'' Williams said. "The local party will be well off no matter which way it goes."