Note: This blog's templates will be updated this afternoon to a responsive design bringing it in line with

At that time, we will also change to the Facebook commenting system. You will need to log in with a Facebook account in order to comment.

« Tea party candidate teams up with a Bush | Main | Thrasher: Blocked vote on drilling not linked to oil industry promises »

Does shut down of drilling amendment next week shield GOP from exposing its rift?

Fearing a major victory for Gov, Charlie Crist, Florida Republican leaders are prepared to take drastic action next week -- even blocking a historic vote on a constitutional amendment banning offshore oil drilling.

Legislators are expected to reluctantly convene a special session Tuesday called by the governor, then swiftly reject a plan that could drive his supporters to the polls.

A survey of House Republicans shows the party's caucus is so deeply divided over the amendment that leaders fear it would be difficult for Republicans to stand up to Crist and vote against bringing the issue to the voters.

At least 14 Republicans and one Democrat who supported legislation in 2009 to open Florida waters to oil drilling now support asking voters to decide on a ban, according to a survey of legislators by The Miami Herald and St. Petersburg Times. More here.

Here's how House Republicans told the Miami Herald/St. Petersburg Times they plan to vote on the proposed constitutional ban on oil drilling. All 44 House Democrats are likely to support the proposal, except for Rep. Debbie Boyd of Newberry:


Rep. Marti Coley, Marianna

Rep. Faye Culp, Tampa

Rep. Greg Evers, Baker

Rep. Anitere Flores, Miami

Rep. Clay Ford, Gulf Breeze

Rep. Jim Frishe, St. Petersburg

Rep. Ed Homan, Tampa

Rep. Marcelo Llorente, Miami

Rep. Carlos Lopez-Cantera, Miami (leaning yes)

Rep. Peter Nehr, Tarpon Springs

Rep. Jimmy Patronis, Panama City

Rep. J.C. Planas, Miami (leaning yes)

Rep. Ron Schultz, Homosassa

Rep. Baxter Troutman, Winter Haven

Rep. Juan Zapata, Miami


Rep. Sandy Adams, Oviedo

Rep. Dean Cannon, Winter Park

Rep. Larry Cretul, Ocala

Rep. Steve Crisafulli, Merritt Island

Rep. Chris Dorworth, Lake Mary

Rep. Rich Glorioso, Plant City

Rep. Eddy Gonzalez, Hialeah

Rep. Denise Grimsley, Lake Placid

Rep. Alan Hays, Umatilla

Rep. Ed Hooper, Clearwater

Rep. Mike Horner, Kissimmee

Rep. Mike Hudson, Naples

Rep. Kurt Kelly, Ocala

Rep. Paige Kreegel, Punta Gorda

Rep. Debbie Mayfield, Vero Beach

Rep. Seth McKeel, Lakeland

Rep. Dave Murzin, Pensacola

Rep. Pat Patterson, DeLand

Rep. Scott Plakon, Longwood

Rep. Ralph Poppell, Vero Beach

Rep. Ron Renuart, Ponte Verda Beach

Rep. Julio Robaina, Miami

Rep. Matt Gaetz, Fort Walton Beach

Rep. Will Snyder, Stuart

Rep. John Tobia, Satellite Beach

Rep. Will Weatherford, Wesley Chapel

Rep. Mike Weinstein, Jacksonville

Rep. Rich Workman, Melbourne

Won't answer/unsure:

Rep. Ellyn Bogdanoff, Fort Lauderdale

Rep. Adam Hasner, Delray Beach

Rep. Doug Holder, Sarasota

Rep. John Legg, Port Richey

Rep. Marlene O'Toole, Lady Lake

Rep. David Rivera, Miami

Rep. Rob Schenck, Spring Hill

Rep. Kelli Stargel, Lakeland

Could not be reached:

Rep. Janet Adkins, Fernandina Beach

Rep. Kevin Ambler, Tampa

Rep. Tom Anderson, Dunedin

Rep. Gary Aubuchon, Cape Coral

Rep. Steve Bovo, Hialeah

Rep. Jennifer Caroll, Fleming Island

Rep. Carl Domino, Jupiter

Rep. Brad Drake, Eucheeanna

Rep. Eric Eisnaugle, Orlando

Rep. Erik Fresen, Miami

Rep. Tom Grady, Naples

Rep. Dorothy Hukill, Port Orange

Rep. Charles McBurney, Jacksonville

Rep. Bryan Nelson, Apopka

Rep. Steve Precourt, Orlando

Rep. Bill Proctor, St. Augustine

Rep. Lake Ray, Jacksonville

Rep. Ron Reagan, Bradenton

Rep. Ken Roberson, Port Charlotte

Rep. Nick Thompson, Fort Myers

Rep. Charles Van Zant, Keystone Heights

Rep. Trudi Williams, Fort Myers

Rep. John Wood, Winter Haven