Note: This blog's templates will be updated this afternoon to a responsive design bringing it in line with

At that time, we will also change to the Facebook commenting system. You will need to log in with a Facebook account in order to comment.

« Florida Supreme Court upholds only part of purchase of sugar land for Eglades | Main | Marco Rubio pushes for a delay in START treaty; President Obama calls it a "national security imperative" »

Senate vice chairs: 16 D slots, 11 R

Senate President Mike Haridopolos just announced who would serve as the vice chairperson of each committee, after announcing his chairmen earlier this week. Here's a few notes, with the full list below.

The list includes 16 slots for Democrats and 11 slots for Republicans. (You'll remember that two Democrats are chairmen.) Under former President Jeff Atwater, each committee paired a Republican and Democrat as chair/vice chair. This term, there are 11 committees with Republicans in both slots. (Including major committees such as Budget and Rules.) Both Democratic-led committees actually have Democrats also as the vice chairperson. Also, Sen. Paula Dockery finally got a committee leadership post, as vice chairwoman of Commerce and Tourism.

Group I



    * Larcenia Bullard, Vice Chair


Communications, Energy and Public Utilities

    * Christopher Smith, Vice Chair


Community Affairs

    * Jim Norman, Vice Chair


Environmental Preservation and Conservation

    * Steve Oelrich, Vice Chair



Group II


Banking and Insurance

    * Christopher Smith, Vice Chair


Commerce and Tourism

    * Paula Dockery, Vice Chair



Regulated Industries

    * Maria Sachs, Vice Chair



    * Greg Evers, Vice Chair




Group III


Children, Family and Elder Affairs

    * Tony Hill, Vice Chair


Criminal Justice

    * Charlie Dean, Vice Chair


Education and Pre K-12

    * Larcenia Bullard, Vice Chair


Health Regulations

    * Eleanor Sobel, Vice Chair


Higher Education

    * Gary Siplin, Vice Chair



    * Arthenia Joyner, Vice Chair



Group IV


Subcommittee on Ethics and Elections

    * Nancy Detert, Vice Chair


Governmental Oversight and Accountability

    * Gary Siplin, Vice Chair


Military Affairs, Space and Domestic Security

    * Tony Hill, Vice Chair



    * Gwen Margolis, Vice Chair



Group V


Subcommittee on Criminal and Civil Justice Appropriations

    * Arthenia Joyner, Vice Chair


Subcommittee on Finance and Tax

    * Thad Altman, Vice Chair


Subcommittee on General Government Appropriations

    * Lizbeth Benacquisto, Vice Chair


Subcommittee on Health and Human Services Appropriation

    * Nan Rich, Vice Chair


Subcommittee on Higher Education Appropriations

    * John Thrasher, Vice Chair


Subcommittee on Education and Pre K-12 Appropriations

    * Bill Montford, Vice Chair


Subcommittee on Transportation, Tourism and Economic Development Appropriations

    * Gwen Margolis, Vice Chair



Group VI


Rules Committee and Calendar Group

    * J.D. Alexander, Vice Chair


Budget Committee

    * Joe Negron, Vice Chair