Note: This blog's templates will be updated this afternoon to a responsive design bringing it in line with

At that time, we will also change to the Facebook commenting system. You will need to log in with a Facebook account in order to comment.

« PolitiFact checks Gov. Rick Scott: Is 'Obamacare' the 'law of the land'? | Main | Barney Bishop's latest adventure: More lobbying »

George LeMieux camp touts Miami-Dade support

Republican U.S. Senate hopeful George LeMieux's campaign put out a list of Miami-Dade supporters, including state Sen. Rene Garcia of Hialeah, County Commissioner Lynda Bell, Miami City Commissioner Francis Suarez and School Board member Carlos Curbelo, who worked for LeMieux in Washington.

Here's the press release:

Fort Lauderdale, Fla. – George LeMieux today released his Miami-Dade County Victory Team, showing strong support for his campaign for US Senate.

“I am proud to announce my Miami-Dade County Victory Team,” said George LeMieux. “South Florida is a pivotal component in Republican politics and my Miami-Dade Victory Team will play an important roll in defeating Bill Nelson, taking back the US Senate in 2012, and getting our country back on track.”

Miami-Dade County Commissioner Lynda Bell said, "As a strong fiscal conservative with a record of supporting pro-family, pro-liberty ideals, I proudly stand with George LeMieux. George is the only candidate for US Senate with a national record of opposing Washington's job-killing policies and fighting for Florida's families. George also developed real solutions to address the federal budget crisis. Florida needs a strong senator who will stand with the courage of their convictions and is prepared to lead on Day One."

Below is a full list of the Miami-Dade County Victory Team:

Rene Garcia – State Senator, District 40

Lynda Bell – Miami-Dade County Commissioner, District 8

Tony Argiz – Chairman/CEO - Morrison, Brown, Argiz & Farra, LLC

Lorenzo Cobiella - Hialeah/Miami Lakes Republican Club

Carlos Curbelo - Miami-Dade School Board Member, District 7 

Keith Fernandez – Former Campaign Advisor - Congresswoman Ileana Ros-Lehtinen

Maria D. Garcia - Health Care Attorney, Board of Directors - Cuban American Bar Association and SUNPAC

Nelson Hernandez - Miami Lakes Town Councilman

Jesse Manzano-Plaza – Former Jeb Bush Aide, US Army Veteran

Mario Murgado – President/CEO
- Brickell Motors

Daisy Oliveros - McCollum for Governor Hispanic Leadership Team

Frank Pena – President - FJP Group, Miami-Dade REC Committeeman

Francis Suarez - Miami City Commissioner, District 4

This announcement follows the endorsements of former Republican Party of Florida Chairman Tom Slade, 15 sitting Florida legislators, Mississippi Governor Haley Barbour, and the National Tax Limitation Committee PAC.