Note: This blog's templates will be updated this afternoon to a responsive design bringing it in line with

At that time, we will also change to the Facebook commenting system. You will need to log in with a Facebook account in order to comment.

« Dems and Repubs bicker over who's to blame in failed redistricting deal | Main | Environmental group ad warns of 'summer slime' »

Gov. Scott withdraws appointments (updated)

Gov. Rick Scott has reappointed most of the people who were not confirmed by the Senate in the spring legislative session, but he withdrew 10, including several from the Tampa Bay area.

Without providing any explanation, Scott late Monday pulled the following appointees: Roderick Jones to the Board of Chiropractic Medicine; Pinellas Clerk of Court Ken Burke to the St. Petersburg College Board of Trustees; Carlos of Alfonso of Tampa to the University of Florida Board of Trustees; Earl Young of Zephyrhills to the Tampa Bay Regional Planning Council; Edwin Lytton of Inverness and Veeramaneni Rao of Lecanto to the Citrus County Hospital Board; Anthony Clemente of Miami to the Board of Pilot Commissioners; Charles Fishman of Venice to the State College of Florida-Manatee Board of Trustees; and Pamella Seay of Port Charlotte to the Edison State College Board of Trustees.
A previous blog post on this subject said Scott revoked 51 appointments, but the others are appointed by others, such as the Board of Governors (in the case of state university trustees) or Agriculture Commissioner Adam Putnam (in the case of the Board of Professional Surveyors and Mappers).

Steve Bousquet, Times/Herald Tallahassee Bureau