Note: This blog's templates will be updated this afternoon to a responsive design bringing it in line with

At that time, we will also change to the Facebook commenting system. You will need to log in with a Facebook account in order to comment.

« Poll: Obama leads Romney 45-41 in Florida | Main | Judge denies request to stop voter purge »

Congress congratulates Miami Heat

Here's an important, bipartisan measure put forth by the U.S. House and Senate yesterday: a resolution congratulating the Miami Heat on its NBA championship.

The House resolution notes, among other things, that "on July 9, 2010, Dwyane Wade, LeBron James, and Chris Bosh were anointed the Three Kings at a ceremony in AmericanAirlines Arena in Miami" and that "the 'White Hot' Miami Heat fans sold out the AmericanAirlines Arena and cheered on their hometown team." (Read the Senate version here.)

The resolution was sponsored by Florida's two senators, Democrat Bill Nelson and Republican Marco Rubio, and by two members of Congress, Democrat Alcee Hastings of Miramar and Republican Ileana Ros-Lehtinen of Miami. The House measure was co-sponsored by South Florida Reps. Ted Deutch, Mario Diaz-Balart, David Rivera, Debbie Wasserman Schultz, Allen West and Frederica Wilson.