Note: This blog's templates will be updated this afternoon to a responsive design bringing it in line with

At that time, we will also change to the Facebook commenting system. You will need to log in with a Facebook account in order to comment.

« Gov. Rick Scott announces funeral arrangements for his mother, Esther | Main | A city-by-city elections analysis of how Obama and Romney did in Miami-Dade and Broward »

Legislature leadership taking shape: Richter, Precourt, Young move up

The leadership roster of 2013 Florida Legislature is starting to take shape.

After incoming Republican House Majority leader Chris Dorworth was ousted from office in an upset, Speaker Will Weatherford announced that Rep. Steve Precourt, R-Orlando, will take his place. Precourt was elected in 2006 and served as the Finance and Tax Committee chair last year. Rep. Dana Young, R-Tampa was named Majority Whip.

Precourt and Young join incoming Rules chairman Rep. Rob Schenck, R-Spring Hill, speaker pro-tempore Rep. Marti Coley, R-Marianna, and budget chair Rep. Seth McKeel, R-Lakeland,  in Weatherford's leadership team.

In the Senate, President Don Gaetz, R-Niceville, is beginning to announce his team of lieutenants.

He has appointed Sen. Garrett Richter, R-Naples, as president pro tempore.

Richter, who was elected in 2008, served as the Chair of the Banking and Insurance Committee last year. Gaetz has not yet announced the appointment of his Budget Chair and other leadership posts.