Note: This blog's templates will be updated this afternoon to a responsive design bringing it in line with

At that time, we will also change to the Facebook commenting system. You will need to log in with a Facebook account in order to comment.

« Annual Report from DEO lists 2012 highlights, 2013 goals | Main | Two new staffers head to Marco Rubio's DC office »

Miami-Dade commission names new committees

In her first move as incoming chairwoman of the Miami-Dade commission, Rebeca Sosa expanded the number of board committees and named commissioners to head them.

In a memo issued Wednesday, Sosa set eight committees, up from six, to handle the business of the county's 25 departments, including Miami International Airport and PortMiami. Sosa has said more committees will result in shorter meetings. Some critics have suggested that number will be unwieldy and lead to longer commission meetings, because, with fewer commissioners in each committee, they will be less informed on matters before the full board.

Sosa rewarded the six commissioners who backed her bid for chairwoman -- Lynda Bell, Esteban "Steve" Bovo, Jose "Pepe" Diaz, Sally Heyman, Javier Souto and Juan C. Zapata -- with committee chairmanships of their own. The two other chairmanships went to Audrey Edmonson and Dennis Moss, who had not backed Sosa.

The remaining commissioners -- Bruno Barreiro, Barbara Jordan, Jean Monestime and Xavier Suarez -- will serve as committee vice-chairs.

Sosa also wrote that committees should begin their meetings half an hour earlier.

Read the committee assignments after the jump.

Cultural Affairs and Recreation Committee: Javier Souto, chairman; Barbara Jordan, vice-chairwoman

Economic Development and PortMiami Committee: Lynda Bell, chairwoman, Javier Souto, vice-chairman

Finance Committee: Esteban "Steve" Bovo, chairman; Juan C. Zapata, vice-chairman

Health and Social Services Committee: Audrey Edmonson, chairwoman; Jean Monestime, vice-chairman

Infrastructure and Capital Improvements Committee: Juan C. Zapata, chairman; Sally Heyman, vice-chairwoman

Land Use and Development Committee: Jose "Pepe" Diaz, chairman; Xavier Suarez, vice-chairman

Public Safety and Animal Services Committee: Sally Heyman, chairwoman; Esteban "Steve" Bovo, vice-chairman

Transportation and Aviation Committee: Dennis Moss, chairman; Bruno Barreiro, vice-chairman