Note: This blog's templates will be updated this afternoon to a responsive design bringing it in line with

At that time, we will also change to the Facebook commenting system. You will need to log in with a Facebook account in order to comment.

« Senate's proposed education budget includes $480M for teacher pay raises | Main | MDX votes to raise tolls on Dolphin, Airport expressways in Miami-Dade »

Movers and Shakers

Three inducted into Florida Women's Hall of Fame

A nurse who committed her life to providing medical care to Tampa’s black citizens, a Florida pioneer, and a women’s rights leader will be inducted into the Florida Women’s Hall of Fame by Attorney General Pam Bondi at 5 p.m. Wednesday in the Capital Courtyard. 

Nurse  Clara C. Frye, who died in 1936, transformed her Tampa home into a temporary hospital in1908 and then established the Clara Frye Negro Hospital there in 1923. A pavilion at Tampa General Hospital is named after her. Aleene Pridgen Kidd MacKenzie, a 92-year-old Ocala resident, established the FSU Foundation and in 1964, Gov. Farris Bryant  appointed her to chair the first Commission on the Status of Women; she was also the first president of a national women’s safety group. Pioneer Lillie Pierce Voss, the first non-Native American child born between Jupiter and Miami, grew up with the Seminole Indians in the wilds of what would become Palm Beach County. She and a brother later wrote a manuscript called "Pioneer Life in Southeast Florida."


Top teachers honored at Cabinet meeting

Gov. Rick Scott presented special commendations to the 2013 Florida Teacher of the Year and several North Florida 2013 - 2014 District Teachers of the Year at Tuesday’s Cabinet meeting.  Scott also presented the Governor’s Shine Award to Miami-Dade’s Alexandre Lopes, Florida’s 2013 Teacher of the Year. Lopes, who teaches a pre-kindergarten special-education class at Carol City Elementary, won top honors in the state for his work with special-needs students.

The six  winners honored are Brandon Mullins, a science teacher from Bay County, Karen Tomlinson, an algebra and geometry teacher from Calhoun County; Carmel Dodson, an elementary school teacher from Gulf County; Cornelius Clark, a science and language arts teacher from Jackson County; Joanne Ragans, a math teacher from Madison County and Melissa Whitson, a language arts teacher from Washington County.

Fort Lauderdale attorney reappointed to State University Board of Governors

Gov. Rick Scott has reappointed Norman Tripp, 74, to the Board of Governors of the State University System, the committee that sets policy for the university system. Fourteen of the 17 members on The Board of Governors are appointed by the governor and confirmed by the Florida Senate for a term of seven years. The remaining members include the Chair of the Advisory Council of Faculty Senates, the Commissioner of Education, and the Chair of the Florida Student Association. Tripp’s reappointment was one of six open spots that Gov. Rick Scott had to fill. Tripp was the only one of four members whose terms had expired to seek a new seven-year term. An attorney with Tripp Scott, P.A., he previously served on the Board of Directors for Annenberg College, the Board of Trustees for the University of Miami, the Advisory Board of Nova Southeastern University, and the Board of Trustees of Florida Atlantic University. His term ends in 2020. The appointment must be confirmed by the Florida Senate.

Firefighters, rescue workers recognized at Cabinet

Florida Chief Financial Officer and State Fire Marshal Jeff Atwater honored the Lake Tech Fire Academy and 10 fire- and rescue-service personnel for exceptional dedication to fire and rescue services during the past year at a ceremony Monday and Cabinet meeting Tuesday. Fire Service recipients are  Fire Inspector of the Year Robert Salvaggio, Collier County Fire Control and Rescue District; Fire Instructor of the Year Tom Sousa, West Manatee Fire Rescue  Forestry; Firefighter of the Year Roy Cribbs, Florida Forest Service; Fire Marshal of the Year David Woodside, Boca Raton Fire Rescue; Professional Firefighter of the Year Dustin Seabolt, Palm Harbor Fire Rescue; Career Firefighter of the Year James Hamor, Palm Bay Fire Rescue;  Fire Chief of the Year Cindy Dick, Tallahassee Fire Department; Fire Investigator of the Year Doug Keller, Miami-Dade Fire Rescue Department; Chad Reed Emergency Manager of the Year Rodney Andreasen, Jackson County Emergency Management; Volunteer Firefighter of the Year Douglas Ten Hoopen, Jacksonville Fire and Rescue Department;  Training Center of the Yea: Lake Tech Fire Academy, accepted by Ron Williams, Lake Tech Fire Academy Program Director; and Firefighter Appreciation Week: Muscular Dystrophy Association.

Top volunteer reappointed as AARP Florida President

Doug Heinlen, of Sarasota has been reappointed by AARP Southeast Regional Volunteer Director Wendy Brawley as AARP Florida’s president, the organization’s highest-ranking volunteer in the state. Heinlen, 67, will serve a third two-year term as AARP Florida President. An Ohio native, Heinlen has volunteered with AARP for 10 years and he serves as a member of the Tidewell Hospice Board of Directors. 

 Two honored with Business Ambassador Awards

Bill Herrle, Florida’s executive director for the small business advocacy group National Federation of Independence Business, and Leadership Council Chairman Jerry Pierce, also the owner of Restaurant Equipment World in Orlando, have received the Florida Governor’s Business Ambassador Awards for their work in growing jobs in Florida.