« Miami-Dade social services feel sequester pinch | Main | Judge orders release of redistricting documents--again »

18 South Florida politicians chosen for 'good government' training


Eighteen local and state elected officials have been chosen to take part in the third class of the Good Government Initiative at the University of Miami. The program, created by former Miami-Dade Commissioner Katy Sorenson, is designed to train politicians to be more effective in office.

“It’s inspiring to be able to convene another group of committed, thoughtful elected officials who are eager to serve their communities in an honorable and intelligent way,” Sorenson said Tuesday in a statement.

The new class members are, from Miami-Dade: Cutler Bay Council member Peggy Bell, North Bay Village Commissioner Richard Chervony, Aventura Commissioner Enbar Cohen, North Miami Beach Council member Anthony DeFillipo, Palmetto Bay Vice Mayor John DuBois, Homestead Council member Patricia Fairclough-McCormick, Miami Gardens Council member Erhabor Ighodaro, Biscayne Park Mayor Noah Jacobs, Surfside Commissioner Michelle Kligman, Coral Gables Commissioner Vince Lago, Miami Lakes Council member Anthony Lama, Democratic state Rep. Kionne McGhee of Miami, and Bay Harbor Islands Council member Kelly Reid.

From Broward: Miramar Commissioner Yvette Colbourne, Davie Council member Caryl Hattan, and Hallandale Beach Commissioner Michele Lazarow.

From Monroe: Republican state Rep. Holly Raschein of Key Largo.

From Palm Beach: Palm Beach Shores Commissioner Myra Koutzen.


Feed You can follow this conversation by subscribing to the comment feed for this post.


Should add Rick Scott to the list while you're at it.

The comments to this entry are closed.