« ‘Pop-Tart’ gun bill would not punish children with simulated weapons at school | Main | Rick Scott goes for 14: signs another death warrant, this time for 1987 Broward co-worker killer »

Carvalho named 2014 National Superintendent of the Year


Continuing on a string of accolades, Miami-Dade Superintendent Alberto Carvalho has been named the 2014 National Superintendent of the Year.

The award was handed out in Nashville Thursday afternoon by the Association of School Superintendents. Carvalho, who was joined in Tennessee by board members, tweeted out that he is "humbled and honored."

"Today's recognition reflects the dedication, sacrifice and work of every member of our education family, as well as the guidance and direction of our School Board," he posted on Facebook. "I share this award with every teacher, student, employee and community partner of" Miami-Dade schools.

Carvalho beat out 50 state superintendents of the year, and three other finalists. The win follows the district's receipt of the Broad Prize a little more than one year ago, and a recent award from the College Board for major progress on Advanced Placement exams.

There is one caveat, however, that might slow the celebration a little: The only other Florida superintendent to win the national award was Rudy Crew in 2008. Then Miami-Dade's schools chief, Crew was ousted by the school board before the end of the year, and replaced by Carvalho.


Feed You can follow this conversation by subscribing to the comment feed for this post.


Rick Scott will go to hell for this and other offenses which directly contradict his religious beliefs.


E tu, Brute?

Yeah? Big DEAL!
How much longer before the hammer drops?

Miami School Leader Rudolph Crew Named 2008 National
Superintendent of the Year
February 15, 2008

TAMPA, Fla. – Rudolph “Rudy” Crew, superintendent of the Miami-Dade County Public Schools in
Miami, Fla., has been named the 2008 National Superintendent of the Year. Crew was honored
today at the American Association of School Administrators’ National Conference on Education in
Tampa. Now in its 21st year, the National Superintendent of the Year program, co-sponsored by
AASA and ARAMARK Education, celebrates the contributions and leadership of public school
Crew, 57, is in his fourth year as superintendent of the Miami-Dade County Public Schools. He has
been credited with making significant changes in the learning environment in the 353,000-student
Dade County system, the nation’s fourth largest school system.
“Rudy Crew has demonstrated high-quality leadership in several of our nation’s largest public school
systems,” said Paul Houston, AASA executive director. “From developing innovative school
improvement programs to strengthening collaboration with the local community, he has worked
hard to improve learning outcomes for all children. AASA is proud to have him represent the best of
the profession in 2008.”

The comments to this entry are closed.