Another group that won't get the full $25 tag fee reduction: owners of heavy trucks, defined in state law as trucks that weigh more than 5,000 pounds, many of which are used commercially. The state Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles says 1,017,756 trucks of that size were registered in the state in March.
Gov. Rick Scott signed the tag-fee reductions into law on April 2 and touted it as helping Florida families "keep nearly $400 million of their hard-earned money in their own pockets — because it’s their money!” At the bill-signing ceremony last week, Tom Feeney of Associated Industries of Florida hailed the reduction as "a win for Floridians who register their family car and for businesses who register fleets."
Many heavy trucks are not owned by individuals but by private companies, such as FedEx or UPS trucks. They renew their registrations en masse in December. The state has calculated that each heavy truck tag fee will decrease by $13.55, according to the Florida Trucking Association.
"The number of people getting the shaft continues to increase," said Pasco County Tax Collector Mike Fasano, a Republican who was appointed to his post by Scott last year. "The Florida Legislature and Gov. Scott continue to exempt Floridians from receiving the fee reduction."
The chart below, from DHSMV, shows how different classes of vehicles were affected by the 2009 tag fee increases, passed by the Legislature and signed into law by then-Gov. Charlie Crist. (GVW stands for gross vehicle weight -- and yes, though the actual fee is small, as a percentage, those politicians of 2009 actually hit disabled veterans hardest).
|Automobiles||1 thru 2499||$27.60||$46.15||$18.55||67.21%|
|2500 - 3499||$35.60||$57.15||$21.55||60.53%|
|3500 - up||$45.60||$70.65||$25.05||54.93%|
|Truck||1 thru 1999||$27.60||$46.15||$18.55||67.21%|
|2000 - 3000||$35.60||$57.15||$21.55||60.53%|
|3001 - 5000||$45.60||$70.65||$25.05||54.93%|
|Heavy Truck by GVW||5,001-5,999||$56.60||$85.90||$29.30||51.77%|