Note: This blog's templates will be updated this afternoon to a responsive design bringing it in line with

At that time, we will also change to the Facebook commenting system. You will need to log in with a Facebook account in order to comment.

« Florida Supreme Court will consider petition to hike attorney Bar dues | Main | Miami judge confirmed as first openly gay black male on federal bench »

Candidates qualify for Miami-Dade commission, property appraiser political races


Two Miami-Dade County commissioners were automatically reelected Tuesday after drawing no opposition.

Sally Heyman and Rebeca Sosa will each serve another four-year term. No candidates qualified to run against the two by Tuesday’s noon deadline. 

At the last minute, an opponent qualified against Jose “Pepe” Diaz. The District 12 commissioner, who represents Northwest Miami-Dade, will face political newcomer Marjorie C. Figueira.

Challengers also qualified, as expected, against three other commissioners who will be on the Aug. 26 ballot.

More here.