« Canes Carnivale: today is last chance to RSVP (sounds like fun) | Main | Desmond Howard: Canes will play Alabama in BCS National Championship game (and lose) »

Canes award nominees are plentiful (or at least a lot more plentiful this season)

Good evening Canes followers. It's Susan again.

I just compiled a list of UM award nominees for some of the top prizes in college football. Following is what will appear in tomorrow's paper (where I usually write the practice report). Do you guys think that other people should have been nominated for any award? Personally, I think Matt Bosher should have been put on the Ray Guy watch list. Maybe he'll be added later.

I also think Graig Cooper (despite the reconstructive knee surgery) and Damien Berry should have been put on the Doak Walker Award watch list.

Individual award nominations don't mean much, except in the fact that they reflect the talent that this team has. It's pretty obvious that when UM players won national awards, the teams for which they played were very special. The trophies are a symbol of pride for UM.

Check out the players who are listed in UM's media guide as having won "National Awards.''  They were all great players. And just think of all the other greats that didn't win them!

Vinny Testaverde, Bennie Blades, Craig Erickson, Russell Maryland, Warren Sapp, Gino Torretta, Dan Morgan, Ken Dorsey, Bryant McKinnie, Brett Romberg, Kellen Winslow and Joaquin Gonzalez are the players listed in UM's media guide as having won "National Awards.''

   The Hurricanes have been racking up the award nominations this preseason.

   The newest University of Miami award nominee is senior defensive end Allen Bailey,
announced Friday for the watch list of the Rotary Lombardi Award (down linemen).

   Bailey also is up for the Bednarik Award (best defensive player in college), Ted
Hendricks Defensive End of the Year Award and Bronko Nagurski Trophy (best defensive

   Other UM defensive players up for prestigious awards are linebacker Colin McCarthy
(Bednarik, Butkus, Nagurski) and cornerback Brandon Harris (Jim Thorpe, Nagurski,
Bednarik). Sean Spence is up for the Butkus Award that goes to the top linebacker.

   On offense, quarterback Jacory Harris is up for the Davey O'Brien and Maxwell. Receiver
Leonard Hankerson is nominated for the Biletnikoff.

   Kicker Matt Bosher is up for the Lou Groza and Lowe's Senior CLASS Award (honors
excellence in community, classroom, character and competition).

   Defensive tackle Marcus Forston and offensive tackle Orlando Franklin are nominated for
the Outland Trophy.

      --SUSAN MILLER DEGNAN (Enjoy your weekend!)