« Canes net two huge commitments from St. Thomas Aquinas | Main | MLB 2nd-rounder Andy Suarez does the unexpected & returns to the Canes -- & other UM baseball news »

Perryman makes Nagurski Award Watch List

Hurricanes senior Denzel Perryman, already on the watch lists for the Bednarik award and the CFPA Linebacker of the Year award, was one of 81 players named to the 2014 Bronko Nagurski Trophy Watch List Thursday, an award given annually since 1993 to the National Defensive Player of the Year.

Past Hurricane winners of the Nagurski Trophy include defensive lineman Warren Sapp (1994) and linebacker Dan Morgan (2000).

Players may be added or removed from the watch list during the course of the season. The Football Writer's Association of Amercin and the Charlotte Touchdown Club will announce five finalists for Nagurski Trophy on Nov. 20. The  Nagurski  winner will be chosen from those five finalists who are part of the 2014 FWAA All-America Team. The annual Bronko Nagurski Trophy Banquet will be held on Dec. 8 at the Westin Hotel in Charlotte.

Pittsburgh tackle Aaron Donald won the award last season.