« Merry Christmas: Gifts all around! | Main | Keys to the game: New York Jets at Miami Dolphins »

Ryan Tannehill is the Miami Dolphins MVP

Quarterback Ryan Tannehill has won the 2014 Dan Marino Most Valuable Player Award, defensive end Cameron Wake won the Don Shula Leadership Award (again) and offensive tackle Jason Fox has captured the Nat Moore Community Service Award.

Tannehill, in his third NFL season and third with the Dolphins, won the MVP award, which is voted on by the South Florida media and the organization, for the first time.

This season, he has started all 15 games and has completed 369-of-551 passing attempts for 3,786 yards, 26 touchdowns and 12 interceptions. His 67.0 completion percentage, on pace to be the second-highest in a season in franchise history, and 26 passing touchdowns are both career highs. Additionally, his 311 rushing yards are also a career high and second most for a quarterback in a season in franchise history.

For the second-straight season, Wake takes the Don Shula Leadership Award, which is voted on by Dolphins players. This is interesting because Wake is by no means a vocal leader yet people in the locker room consider him the man at the head of the team.

Wake becames the sixth player in franchise history to win the award in back-to-back years, joining Zach Thomas (1998-99), Derrick Rodgers (2000-01), Junior Seau (2003-04), Jason Taylor (2006-07) and Karlos Dansby (2010-11).

In 2014, Wake has started all 15 games and has notched 33 tackles (29 solo), 11.5 sacks, 18 quarterback hits, eight tackles for loss, tied his career high with three forced fumbles (2010) and one fumble recovery. With his 11.5 sacks this season, he became the fourth Dolphins player since sacks became an official statistic in 1982 to record double digit sacks in at least three seasons with the team – Jason Taylor (six seasons), Trace Armstrong (three seasons) and Jeff Cross (three seasons).  For the second time in his career (2012), he tallied sacks five consecutive games in Weeks 6-10 (1.5 vs. Green Bay on Oct. 12, 1.0 at Chicago on Oct. 19, 1.0 at Jacksonville on Oct. 26, 1.0 vs. San Diego and 2.0 vs. Detroit).

In his first season with the team, Fox is the Nat Moore Community Service Award winner, which is given to the Dolphins player recognized for his involvement in the South Florida community.  The winner of this award is chosen by the Miami Dolphins Foundation. This season, Fox, who played collegiately at Miami, renewed his South Florida community interest by volunteering for more events than any other player on the team.