« "Tortilla" reunites Ferra and Santeiro | Main | Art imitates life in AAPACT's "Zooman" »

Theater greats get an ultimate honor

Baseball has Cooperstown, football has Canton, rock and roll has Cleveland.  American theater has its own Hall of Fame, names etched on the walls of Broadway's Gershwin Theatre at 222 W. 51st St., the place where hundreds of thousands of musical fans have flocked to see Wicked.

Nathan_laneThe latest group of inductees has just been announced, and Producers star Nathan Lane (who is expected to be on Broadway this season opposite Bill Irwin in a revival of Samuel Beckett's Waiting for Godot) is among the stage greats being honored.

Also chosen this time around are playwright Alan Ayckbourn, actor Richard Easton, choreographer Patricia Birch, producer Emanuel Azenberg, composer Marvin Hamlisch, orchestrator Jonathan Tunick and the late actor Roscoe Lee Browne.  Members of the American Theatre Critics Association (including me) are among those who vote on nominees.

Honorary chair is Palm Beach resident and former Broadway actress Dame Celia Lipton Farris; mistress of ceremonies is 2007 honoree Dana Ivey. The ceremony takes place in the Gershwin's North Rotunda at 7:30 p.m. Jan. 26, with a celebratory supper at the Friars Club to follow.  For a list of all Hall of Fame inductees, check out the Best Plays Yearbook online.