« Another Winning Season | Main | Nick Johnson Out With Flu; Leo Nunez A Likely Keeper; Lineups »

Ramirez, Coghlan, Helms and Ross Win Writers' Awards

    Hanley Ramirez was honored for the third straight season as the Marlins' Most Valuable Player by members of the Miami chapter of the Baseball Writers' Association of America. No surprise there. Nor is it any surprise that Chris Coghlan was named the team's Rookie of the Year by the local chapter.

    Ramirez is the first three-time recipient of the chapter's MVP award, receiving the honor in 2007, '08 and this season. Miguel Cabrera, Jeff Conine, Cliff Floyd and Luis Castillo were each two-time winners.

    "It's not about one guy," Ramirez said  "I feel happy what we've done as a team and I feel happy that I have helped."

   Coghlan started the year at Triple A New Orleans figuring the only chance he had of getting to the Marlins this season would be as a September call-up. But since being promoted in May, Coghlan has emerged as one of the top newcomers in the majors and is a leading candidate to win NL Rookie of the Year honors.

  "I just figured there was nowhere for me to go, with Uggs (Dan Uggla) playing second and him doing the great things that he does here," said Coghlan, a second baseman before the Marlins converted him into an outfielder when he was called up. "And so I just went down to Triple A and tried to prepare myself for September. If I had to pinpoint (a time), that's when I thought I would get called up."

   The chapter also announced outfielder Cody Ross as it's winner of the Charlie Hough "Good Guy" Award, given to the Marlin who fosters a strong, working relationship with the media, and Wes Helms as the Jeff Conine "Mr. Marlin" Award, given to the player who best exemplifies the spirit and determination of the former Marlins' player.

Tonight's lineups:

Marlins: 1. Chris Coghlan, lf; 2. Nick Johnson, 1b; 3. Hanley Ramirez, ss; 4. Jorge Cantu, 3b; 5. Dan Uggla, 2b; 6. John Baker, c; 7. Cody Ross, rf; 8. Cameron Maybin, cf; 9. Ricky Nolasco, p.

 Mets: 1. Angel Pagan, lf; 2. Luis Castillo, 2b; 3. David Wright, 3b; 4. Carlos Beltran, cf; 5. Daniel Murphy, 1b; 6. Jeff Francoeur, rf; 7. Josh Thole, c; 8. Anderson Hernandez, ss; 9. Tim Redding,