« Court rules against Episcopal breakaways | Main | Latino Boys magazine editor David L. Wylie resigns to lead online venture »

Washington Blade: Clinton camp announces gay steering committee

List includes activists from across U.S.
By JOSHUA LYNSEN | Washington Blade

Sen. Hillary Clinton's presidential campaign announced Wednesday the formation of "LGBT Americans for Hillary," a national steering committee that includes more than five dozen gays.

The committee, which boasts elected officials and activists from across the nation, is slated to support the campaign with political outreach, communications, policy advice and fund raising.

"I am proud to have the support of such distinguished leaders in the LGBT community," Clinton said. "Together, we can move our nation closer to the promise of fairness and equality that all Americans deserve."

Names on the list, in alphabetical order, include:

• Eldie Acheson, former U.S. Assistant Attorney General; founding director, Public Policy and Government Affairs, National Gay and Lesbian Task Force    

• Roberta Achtenberg, former Assistant Secretary, U.S. Dept. of Housing and Urban Development

• Toni Atkins, San Diego, CA, City Councilmember

• Dr. Christopher Barley, activist, philanthropist

• Greg Berlanti, creator/producer, TV series, “Brothers and Sisters”

• Elizabeth Birch, former Executive Director, Human Rights Campaign

• Mary Breslauer, former co-chair, Kerry-Edwards 2004 LGBT Steering Committee; communications consultant

• Tonio Burgos, member, Democratic National Committee LGBT Caucus

• Ilene Chaiken, creator/producer, Showtime series, “The L Word”

• Rocco Claps, former LGBT Outreach Director, Democratic National Committee; Illinois LGBT activist

• Bruce Cohen, Oscar-winning film producer

• Roberta Conroy, member, National Leadership Council, Lambda Legal

• Joan Darrah, retired U.S. Navy Captain

• Q. Todd Dickinson, former Under Secretary of Commerce for Intellectual

Property and Director of the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office

• Thomas Duane, New York State Senator      

• Ingrid Duran, board member, Gay & Lesbian Alliance Against Defamation   

• Steve Elmendorf, Deputy Campaign Manager, Kerry-Edwards 2004

• Shelley Freeman, business leader, Los Angeles Police Commissioner

• Ethan Geto, long-time gay rights advocate

• John Gile, Executive Director, Project Angel Food

• Emily Giske, member, Democratic National Committee LGBT Caucus

• Deborah Glick, New York Assemblymember

• Steven Goldstein, Chair, Garden State Equality

• Chad Griffin, CEO, Chad Griffin Consulting, Inc.

• Rebecca Haag, Executive Director, AIDS Action Council; Executive Director, AIDS Action Committee of Massachusetts

• Yashar Hedayat, businessman

• Lisa Henderson, General Manager, Olivia Cruises

• Stephen Herbits, businessman

• Fred Hochberg, former Deputy then Acting Administrator, U.S. Small Business Administration; Dean of the Milano School for Management and Urban Policy, The New School

• John Isa, board of directors and Business Council member, Human Rights Campaign

• Gloria Johnson, board member, National Stonewall Democrats

• Christine Kehoe, California State Senator

• Keith Kerr, retired Colonel., U.S. Army; retired Brigadier General, California National Reserve

• Kasey Kincaid, attorney, Iowa grassroots activist

• Billie Jean King, sports legend and social pioneer

• Sheila James Kuehl, California State Senator

• Mark Kvare, board member, National Stonewall Democrats

• Neel Lattimore, Special Advisor for Strategic Communications, Children’s Defense Fund; former press secretary for the First Lady

• Bruce Lehman, former U.S. Assistant Secretary of Commerce and Commissioner of Patents and Trademarks

• Sue Lovell, Houston, TX, City Councilmember

• Claire Lucas, chair, Democratic National Committee LGBT Leadership Council; board member, National Stonewall Democrats

• Linda Gray Murphy, board member, National Stonewall Democrats

• Daniel O'Donnell, New York Assemblymember

• Dixon Osburn, LGBT activist on "Don't Ask Don't Tell" policy

• Annise Parker, Houston, TX, City Controller

• Catherine Pino, board member, National Gay and Lesbian Chamber of Commerce

• Julian Potter, former Special Assistant to President as Liaison to the Gay and Lesbian Community

• Christine Quinn, Speaker, New York City Council

• Hilary Rosen, President, OurChart.com; media industry consultant   

• Peter  Rosenstein, DC-based LGBT community activist

• Mirian Saez, member, Democratic National Committee LGBT Caucus

• Greg Sargent, attorney, New Hampshire LGBT activist                                                                                        

• Jayne Baron Sherman, co-chair, In the Life Media; former board chair, Lambda Legal

• Melissa Sklarz, Director, New York Trans Rights Organization; vice chair, National Stonewall Democrats                  

• Paul M. Smith, board member, Lambda Legal; Attorney who successfully argued the landmark case, Lawrence v. Texas, establishing the right to privacy for gay Americans

• Jeff Soref, former chair of the Democratic National Committee LGBT Caucus; former co-chair, National Gay and Lesbian Task Force

• Laura Spanjian, board member, Gay and Lesbian Victory Fund; board member, Equality California

• Campbell Spencer, former National LGBT Outreach Director for the Democratic National Committee and Gore-Lieberman 2000

• Rick Stafford, chair, Democratic National Committee LGBT Caucus; co-chair, National Stonewall Democrats

• Jill Stauffer, board of directors, Human Rights Campaign

• Sally Susman, business leader

• Rev. Deborah Tammearu, Episcopal Priest, Diocese of New York

• Matthew Titone,  New York State Assemblymember                                                             

• Jeffrey Tooke, board member, National Stonewall Democrats

• Olive F. Watson, activist and philanthropist

• Paula Redd Zeman, vice chair, National Gay and Lesbian Task Force; vice chair, Black Democrats of Westchester   

• Bob Zuckerman, board member, National Stonewall Democrats

• Jose Zuniga, retired U.S. Army Sergeant and former Soldier of the Year; Executive Director, International Association of Physicians in AIDS Care


TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference Washington Blade: Clinton camp announces gay steering committee:


Feed You can follow this conversation by subscribing to the comment feed for this post.

The comments to this entry are closed.