« Video | Gay family ad rejected by KABC-TV | Main | Claudine Ryce, 1942-2009 »

Liza Minnelli: The Complete A&M Recordings now available

Judy. Liza. Judy. Liza.

From Liza Minnelli's official webmaster Scott Schechter:


In celebration of the 40th Anniversary of their initial issue, Collector's Choice Music is pleased to present,for the first time ever, the CD debut of Liza Minnelli’s entire catalog for A&M Records – restored and remastered for this new collection, in 24-bit digital splendor, directly from the original master tapes.

Originally released from 1968 through 1972, these four albums, one single, and several rare outtakes represent a unique period in a legend’s legacy.

This was a time when Minnelli was already past the stage of being an unknown or new artist -- but not quite the superstar she would become just as her association with A&M would end -- and her avalanche of awards began in earnest (including an Oscar for her starring role in the movie "Cabaret," and an Emmy for her TV special "Liza With a ‘Z.’") You might think of this historic 2-CD set as “Liza BEFORE The 'Z,'" or 'PRE-‘Z.’”

This exclusive Collector's Choice 2-CD set features an informative essay from the CD's producer: Liza's official webmaster, author - historian Scott Schechter, along with a full-color booklet featuring rare photos, and includes the studio albums "Liza Minnelli" (1968), "Come Saturday Morning "(1969), "New Feelin'" (1970), along with her first in-person solo recording "Live at the Olympia in Paris" (1972) -- discs that have never appeared on CD in the U.S. (and only the first and last LPs were on briefly-issued overseas compact discs, that fetch many hundreds of dollars on eBay when they appear). Hear Liza tackle songs with an unexpected contemporary pop-country-folk-Muscle Shoals beat, including numbers by Randy Newman ("Debutante's Ball"), John Denver ("Leavin' on a Jet Plane") and her husband Peter Allen ("Simon") -- along with yes, the expected tunes from the Great American Songbook, Hollywood, and Broadway.... including selections by her team of Kander and Ebb, and thus her hits "Liza With a 'Z,'" and, of course, "Cabaret."  

This set is a must-have for all fans of music from the late 1960s into the early 1970s -- and of course, Liza Lovers will think they've died and gone to, well, Liza Land.

Come to the Cabaret
and celebrate this still acclaimed living legend at the early period of her acclaimed career.

FINAL TRACK LISTINGS  (51 Songs in Total;  Disc One Playing Time: 77:50;  Disc Two Playing Time: 77:57)

Am-cd1 DISC ONE:
Tracks 1 through 10 are from the A&M LP LIZA MINNELLI, Release # SP-4141, issued on February 9th, 1968.  
1)     “The Debutante’s Ball” (Randy Newman)
2)     “Happyland” (Randy Newman)
3)     “The Look of Love” (Oscar-nominated song from the movie Casino Royale) (Hal David – Burt Bacharach)
4)     “(The Tragedy of) Butterfly McHeart” (Peter Allen – Chris Allen)
5)     “Waiting for My Friend” (John Addison – George Melly)
6)     “Married” (from the musical Cabaret) (Fred Ebb/John Kander) / “You Better Sit Down, Kids” (Sonny Bono)
7)     “So Long Dad” (Randy Newman)
8)     “For No One” (John Lennon-Paul McCartney)
9)     “My Mammy” (Sam Lewis-Joe Young-Walter Donaldson)
10)   “The Happy Time” (from the musical The Happy Time) (Fred Ebb – John Kander)
Bonus Tracks: (All Bonus Tracks are Unreleased Outtakes from A&M Records session for the LPs included on this set):
11)  “Snow” (Randy Newman)
12)  “Alicinha” (Luiz Henrique-Oscar Brown Jr)
13)  “Once in a Lifetime” (Luiz Henrique – Walter Wanderley)  
14)  “Listen to Me” (Luiz Henrique)
15)  “I'm Looking Over a Four Leaf Clover” (Mort Dixon-Harry Woods)
Tracks 16 through 26 are from the A&M LP COME SATURDAY MORNING, Release # SP-4164, issued on February 1st, 1969.  (11 Tracks)
16)   “Come Saturday Morning”  (Oscar-nominated song from the movie The Sterile Cuckoo) (Fred Karlin-Dory Previn)
17)   “Raggedy Ann & Raggedy Andy” (Larry Marks-Marilyn & Alan Bergman)
18)   “Leavin’ on a Jet Plane” (John Denver)
19)   “Wailing of the Willow” (Harry Nilsson)
20)   “Nevertheless” (Bert Kalmar-Harry Ruby)
21)   “Wherefore and Why” (Gordon Lightfoot)
22)   “Love Story” (Randy Newman)
23)   “On a Slow Boat to China” (Frank Loesser)
24)   “Don’t Let Me Lose This Dream” (Aretha Franklin-Ted White)
25)   “Simon” (Peter Allen)
26)   “MacArthur Park” / “Didn’t We?”  (Jimmy Webb)

Am-cd2 DISC TWO:
TRACKS 1 through 10 are from the A&M Records LP NEW FEELIN,’ Release # SP-4272, issued on September 18th, 1970:
1)     “Love For Sale” (from the musical The New Yorkers) (Cole Porter)
2)     “Stormy Weather” (Harold Arlen – Ted Koehler)
3)     “Come Rain or Come Shine” (from the musical St. Louis Woman)(Harold Arlen – Johnny Mercer)
4)     “Lazy Bones” (Johnny Mercer – Hoagy Carmichael)
5)     “Can’t Help Lovin’ That Man of Mine” (from the musical Show Boat) (Oscar Hammerstein – Jerome Kern)
6)     “(I Wonder Where My) Easy Rider’s Gone” (Shelton Brooks)
7)     “The Man I Love” (from the musical Strike Up the Band) (George and Ira Gershwin)
8)     “How Long Has This Been Going On?” (from the musicals Funny Face & Rosalie) (George and Ira Gershwin)
9)     “God Bless the Child” (Billie Holiday – Arthur Herzog)
10)   “Maybe This Time” (Fred Ebb – John Kander)
11)  “Frank Mills” (from the Broadway musical Hair) (James Rado-Gerome Ragni-Galt MacDermot) – From an A&M Records single release, issued late 1968 / early 1969.
Bonus Tracks: (All Bonus Tracks are Unreleased Outtakes from A&M Records session for the LPs included on this set)
12)   “I’ll Never Fall in Love Again” (from the musical Promises, Promises) (Burt Bacharach and Hal David)
13)   “This Girl’s In Love With You” (Burt Bacharach and Hal David)
14)    “Tell Me That You Love Me, Junie Moon”  (Peter Allen)

TRACKS 15 through 25 are from the A&M Records LP LIZA MINNELLI – LIVE AT THE OLYMPIA IN PARIS, Release # SP-4345, issued on April 5th, 1972.  (11 Tracks)
15)   “Consider Yourself  (Lionel Bart, from the musical Oliver)/ Hello, I Love You (Won’t You Tell Me Your Name) (John Densmore- Robby Krieger-Ray Manzarek-Jim Morrison) / I Gotta Be Me (Walter Marks; from the Broadway musical Golden Rainbow) / Consider Yourself (reprise)”
16)   “Everybody’s Talking” (Fred Neil) / “Good Morning Starshine” (From the Broadway musical Hair:  James Rado-Gerome Ragni-Galt MacDermot)
17)   “God Bless the Child” (Billie Holiday – Arthur Herzog)
18)   “Liza With a ‘Z’” (Fred Ebb / John Kander)
19)   “Married” (from the musical Cabaret) (Fred Ebb-John Kander) / “You Better Sit Down, Kids” (Sonny Bono)
20)   “Nous On S’Aimera” (Frank Gerald – Claude Bolling)
21)   “I Will Wait for You” (Norman Gimbel – Michel Legrand)
22)   “There Is a Time” (Les Temps) (from the Musical Production: The World of Charles Aznavour) (Original French Lyrics Charles Aznavour / Music by Jeff Davis; English Lyrics by Gene Lees)
23)   “My Mammy” (Sam Lewis – Joe Young – Walter Donaldson)
24)   “Everybody Loves My Baby” (Jack Palmer – Spencer Williams)
25)   “Cabaret”  (From the Broadway musical Cabaret) (Fred Ebb – John Kander)


TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference Liza Minnelli: The Complete A&M Recordings now available:


Feed You can follow this conversation by subscribing to the comment feed for this post.

The comments to this entry are closed.