« Lindsay Lohan, Samantha Ronson heating back up? | Main | Family Research Council: Dump Kevin Jennings from new job at Secretary of Education’s office »

Stonewall Trans Heroes: Task Force, International Court Council recognize ‘40 transgender, gender-nonconforming individuals’

News release from the National Gay and Lesbian Task Force:


Words Recognizing outstanding transgender and gender-nonconforming individuals in the struggle for LGBT equality

WASHINGTON, June 10 — In honor of the 40th anniversary of Stonewall, the International Court Services, in collaboration with the National Gay and Lesbian Task Force, is recognizing 40 transgender and gender-nonconforming individuals for their contribution toward lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) equality.

To mark this occasion, the International Court System is showcasing these “40 Trans Heroes” on its Web site at www.impcourt.org/Trans40/ to highlight the importance of the transgender and gender-nonconforming community as an equal and important part of the broader LGBT community. The “40 Trans Heroes” were solicited and selected from hundreds of nominations by a special committee of the International Court Council.

"This is by no means a complete list or a ‘best of’ or ‘top 10’ list. It is merely a beginning tribute to the thousands of transgender and gender-nonconforming individuals that have made our modern-day movement possible," says Thom Hansen, president of the International Court Council. “This momentous tribute to the transgender community is a long time coming. The International Court System is honored to partner with the Task Force. Together, we pay tribute to those whose lives and works have impacted each and every one of us."

“On the 40th anniversary of the Stonewall riots, let's remember the legacy of those who started our struggle for equality and liberation," says Rea Carey, executive director of the National Gay and Lesbian Task Force. "Recognizing 40 of the many transgender and gender-nonconforming individuals who have worked tirelessly and passionately in favor of full LGBT equality throughout these four decades is a reminder of the determination and persistence of the transgender community and of the human spirit. Let's continue to honor these important contributions toward a more just and equal society for all of us.”

The International Court System will present a commemorative plaque inscribed with the names of these outstanding individuals on June 25 to be placed at the Stonewall Inn.

For more information about the International Court System and “Stonewall 40 — 40 Trans Heroes,” please visit www.impcourt.org.

“40 Trans Heroes”

Sylvia Rivera
Shannon Price Minter
Mara Keisling
Jose Julio Sarria
Ru Paul
Marsha Botzer
Nicole Murray-Ramirez
Norma Kristie
Masen Davis
Melissa Sklarz
Lady Bunny
Leslie Feinberg
Gunner Scott
Lynn Conway
Chi Chi LaRue
Marsha P. Johnson
Riki Wilchins
Barbra Casbar Siperstein
Yosenio Lewis
Robin Tyler
Coco LaChine
Valerie Spencer
Jim Flynn
Nancy Nangeroni
Lady Chablis
Rosalinda dela Luna
Cecilia Chung
Loren Cameron
Maria Roman
Theresa Sparks
Karina Samala
Grace Sterling Stowell
Donna Sachet
Shirley Bushnell
Cole Thaler
Jamison Green
Sister Roma
Billy deFrank
Frank Marino

To learn more about the National Gay and Lesbian Task Force, visit www.theTaskForce.org and follow us on Twitter: @TheTaskForce.


TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference Stonewall Trans Heroes: Task Force, International Court Council recognize ‘40 transgender, gender-nonconforming individuals’:


Feed You can follow this conversation by subscribing to the comment feed for this post.

The comments to this entry are closed.