« Under Armour All-American Football | Main | Under Armour Football: Black 32, White 7 »

U.S. Army Bowl announces 2011 roster

THE U.S. ARMY ALL-AMERICAN BOWL, which will celebrate its 10th anniversary on January 9, 2010 at the Alamodome in San Antonio, Texas is proud to announce the first 19 participants for the 11th annual bowl. Played every January, the 2011 U.S. Army All-American Bowl will once again feature the top high school seniors in the nation. Past alumni of the bowl include Adrian Peterson, Reggie Bush, Vince Young, Rey Maualuga, Vernon Davis, Chris Long, Jonathan Stewart, Kenny Phillips, Mark Sanchez, Ted Ginn, Jr., Tim Tebow, C.J. Spiller, Anthony Davis, Jimmy Clausen, Noel Devine and Terrelle Pryor.

The first 19 athletes have been tabbed by a blue-ribbon selection committee; they represent the very best in high school football for the 2010 season, and therefore the 2011 U.S. Army All American Game.

“The first selections for the bowl always set the tone for each and every edition of THE U.S. ARMY ALL-AMERICAN BOWL. For 10 years, the bowl has been the nation’s premier showcase for high school football,” said Doug Berman, chairman of SportsLink, the founder of THE U.S. ARMY ALL-AMERICAN BOWL. “This past year, we had seven alumni from the bowl named to the Pro Bowl. In the spring, eight alumni of THE U.S. ARMY ALL-AMERICAN BOWL were taken in the first round of the NFL Draft. Every year, the talent in the bowl continues to get more and more impressive.”

The 19 players are:

La’El Collins OL Redemptorist Baton Rouge, La.
Isaiah Crowell RB Carver Columbus, Ga.
Ray Drew DE Thomas County Thomasville, Ga.
George Farmer WR Junipero Serra Gardena, Calif.
Curtis Grant LB Hermitage Richmond, Va.
Aaron Green RB James Madison San Antonio, Texas
Matthew Hegarty OL Aztec Aztec, N.M.
Kenny Hilliard RB Patterson Patterson, La.
Anthony Johnson DE O.P. Walker New Orleans, La.
Cyrus Kouandjio OL DeMatha Cath. Hyattsville, Md.
Jarvis Landry WR Lutcher Convent, La.
Colt Lyeria LB Hillsboro Hillsboro, Ore.
Braxton Miller QB Wayne Huber Heights, Ohio
Nick O’Leary TE Dwyer West Palm Beach, Fla.
Charone Peake WR Dorman Roebuck, S.C.
Austin Sefarian-Jenkins TE Gig Harbor Gig Harbor, Wash.
Christian Westerman OL Hamilton Chandler, Ariz.
James Wilder LB Plant Tampa, Fla.
Gabriel Wright DT Carver Columbus, Ga.

Throughout the past decade, THE U.S. ARMY ALL-AMERICAN BOWL has featured the nation’s most elite football players and honored more than 300 of the most committed Soldier Heroes. In addition to more than 400 NCAA athletes, the game has more than 90 alumni currently playing in the NFL. Included in this tally are five starting quarterbacks in the NFL and the New York Jets’ center-quarterback tandem, Nick Mangold and Mark Sanchez.

The 2009 U.S. ARMY ALL-AMERICAN BOWL was attended by 32,732 fans and garnered a 1.7 rating on NBC. The 2010 game will take place on January 9, 2010 in San Antonio and will be televised live on NBC. It will be the 10th anniversary of the bowl.