This blog has moved.

Please visit our new page here

« First Lady Michelle Obama heads to Miami to tout nutrition | Main | Bill Nelson and Marco Rubio pledge to keep it nonpartisan when it comes to Florida »

Lobbyists, businessmen, former Columbia/HCA workers dot Rick Scott transition teams

Gov.-elect Rick Scott today picked Alan Levine, a former state health agency appointee of Jeb Bush, to head his transition team on health issues.

Levine was an administrator of Bayonet Point Medical Center in 1992 when Scott's Columbia hospital chain took over. Levin spoke glowingly of Scott during the primary campaign, telling the Times/Herald that Scott helped revolutionize the hospital industry by demanding more medical and financial accountability and training.

Other members of the health team include Cynthia Sucher, the former marketing director for a Columbia/HCA hospital in Winter Park; lobbyists Wayne Watters and Margaret Lynn Duggar; and Republican Party of Florida donor Dr. Akshay Desai.

Scott also named his transition team for public safety issues, which will be headed by Pasco County Sheriff Bob White.

Some other interesting picks on the law enforcement side: Katherine Harris' attorney during the 2000 recount, Joe Klock, and Chris Knight, a former Florida Highway Patrol colonel who was forced to resign after investigators found he falsified a memo and used it to justify the firing of an FHP commander. The state eventually paid $525,000 to end a lawsuit filed by that commander.

Scott's press release outlines some broad goals for the transition teams. All of the teams must find ways to "reduce the size of government" by identifying "innovative ideas from the private sector, success stories from other states, cost-saving opportunities and legislative priorities."

The health team's goals include "lower health care costs, transform the delivery of health services and better meet the needs of those most vulnerable in the state."

Suggestions from the law enforcement must "ensure safer neighborhoods across Florida and transform the manner in which we reduce crime, provide rehabilitation services and incarcerate criminals."

Here are the teams:

The Health and Human Services Transition Team: Chair: Alan Levine, Senior Vice President of Health Management Associates

Medicaid Reform team: Albert Maury, President & CEO, Leon Medical Centers Health Plans; Cynthia Sucher, Associate Vice President, Community Relations, University of Central Florida; Sybil Richard, Vice President of Professional Services for Walmart USA; Kevin Kearns, CEO of Health Choice Networks; Bruce Greenstein, Sec. of Health & Hospitals in LA, former Worldwide Director of Health Care for Microsoft; Jim Frogue, Vice President and Director of State Policy, Center for Health Transformation; Manny Kadre, CEO, GC Caribbean Importers, LLC; Dr. William Dalton, President, CEO & Center Director, H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center & Research Institute; Michael Cannon, Director of Health Policy Studies, CATO Institute; James Capretta, Fellow, Ethics & Public Policy Center

Health: Jason Rosenberg, Board of Medicine, MD, FACS, Plastic & Reconstructive Surgery; Dr. Fernando Valverde, CEO, FIU Herbert Wertheim College of Medicine Health Care Network; Barbara MacArthur, Chief Nursing Officer,Tallahassee Memorial; Robert "Bob" Ashburn, Ph.D, former Deputy Secretary of DBPR; Dr. M. Narendra Kini, President and CEO, Miami Children’s Hospital; Dr. Madelyn Butler, President, Florida Medical Association

Health Care Administration: Wayne Watters, Principal, Hunt-Watters, LLC; Gwen MacKenzie, President and CEO, Sarasota Memorial Healthcare System; Steve Sonenreich, President and CEO, Mount Sinai Medical Center; Michael Heekin, Founding Board Member & Former CFO, WebMD; Joe Caruncho, CEO, Preferred Car Partners, Inc.; Juan Zapata, former member, Florida House of Representatives; Jed Kirby, Dr. Akshay Desai

Children & Families: Charles Bender, Chairman, Place of Hope Adam Goldstein, CEO, Royal Caribbean International; Fran Allegra, CEO, Our Kids, Berta Blecke, Junior Leagues of Florida State Public Affairs, C. Lon Smith, Christian Business Directory; Cindy Kane, Harris Corp.

Elder Affairs: Margaret Lynn Duggar, Former Secretary, Aging & Adult Services; Deborah Franklin, Director of Operations, Florida Living Options, Inc.; Thomas Kelly, CEO, Village on the Isle; Samira Beckwith, President & CEO, Hope Health Care Services

Persons with Disabilities: Tim Turner, Lead Delegate for the Family Cafe; Dr. James Michael Andriole, D.O., President/CEO Disability Consultants USA Inc.; Dennis Smith, Former Director of Medicaid for US Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services

Veterans' Affairs: Joe Martory, Co-founder/Director, Human American Veterans Association; Albert Juliachs, US Army Veteran, Retired Miami-Dade Police Department

The Law and Order Transition Team: Chairman: Sheriff Bob White, Pasco County

Prevention/Diversion, Reduced Recidivism, Operational Efficiencies, Emergency Response Major General Douglas Burnett (Retired), USAF/National Guard; Sheriff Jim Coats, Pinellas County; Hon. Judge Irene Sullivan, Circuit Court Judge in the Unified Family Court, author, Raised by the Courts; Angela Corey, State Attorney, Fourth Judicial Circuit Court; Linda Mills, President, Policy Catalysts LLC, criminal justice consultant to Collins Center for Public Policy; Henree Martin, Chair, Bill Glass Champions For Life Prison Ministry

Corrections: Robert Woody, Jail Director, Alachua County, Corrections Foundation Board of Directors; Sheriff David Morgan, Escambia County; Paul Hoisington, Vice President, Net Communications

Highway Safety & Motor Vehicles: Chris Knight, Former FHP; Michael Smith, Former FHP; Marcia Narine, Vice President, Global Compliance & Business Standards Deputy General Counsel, Ryder System, Inc.

Juvenile Justice: Wansley Walters, Director, Miami-Dade Juvenile Services Department; David Dennis, President/CEO, Eckerd Youth Alternatives, Inc.; Tom Olk, Founder and Executive Director, DISC Village Bertica Cabrera-Morris, Bertica Cabrera Morris consulting firm, member, Hispanic Chamber of Commerce; Joe Klock, chairman, Bay Pointe

Law Enforcement: Dr. Kathleen Kiernan, CEO of Kiernan Group Holdings; Police Chief Jeff Harrington, New Port Richey

Military Affairs: former state Sen. Carey Baker; Admiral Robert Natter, USN, (Ret.)

Emergency Management: Joe Myers, former director, Florida Division of Emergency Management, CEO, Disaster Strategies & Ideas Group; Ellis Stanley, director of Western Emergency Management Services, Dewberry Inc., director of DNC Planning for the City & County of Denver, former General Manager of the City of Los Angeles’ Emergency Preparedness Department; serves on the Homeland Security Advisory Council’s Emergency Response Senior Advisory Committee; Former Director of Louisiana Emergency Services; David Paulison, served as FEMA head from 2005-2009; Karen Knapp, CEO/President, United Way of St. Lucie County, Community Organizations Active in Disaster