This blog has moved.

Please visit our new page here

« State gets five-year extension of a funding waiver to help at-risk children | Main | Will Miami-Dade follow Jackson hospital compromise on workers' pay? »

Lawmakers, lobbyists and friends show up for Lopez Cantera's swearing in

Carlos Lopez Cantera has already been the state's lieutenant governor for seven hours but the official ceremony was held in the Florida House chamber late Monday afternoon. 

Lopez Cantera spoke in English and Spanish, telling the audience that Florida Gov. Rick Scott took office in the midst of the worst economy in decades and turned it around. "Ladies and gentlemen, it's working," the former House Republican Leaders said in a speech that stuck to the governor's political talking points. 

In the audience, a Who's Who of Tallahassee insiders packed the chamber. Lawyers and lobbyists, the Florida Cabinet, three members of the Florida Supreme Court and former House speakers and Senate presidents turned lobbyists -- Dean Cannon, Mike Haridopolos, Larry Cretul and James Harold Thompson -- sat in the front row. The entire Miami Dade delegation was in attendance as were several Democratic legislators: Reps. Jim Waldman, Perry Thurston, Jose Javier Rodriguez and Sen. Maria Sachs. 

Also in attendance were a host of big shots from Miami: businessman Norman Braman, Jackson Health CEO Carlos Migoya, former Congressman David Rivera, Miami Dade Republican Party chairman Nelson Diaz and Lopez Cantera's former classmates in the House: Ralph Arza and Adam Hasner.

At a briefing with reporters, Scott did all the talking. Ask what's it like to now be in the executive branch, Lopez Cantera answered: "It's good to be back.''  

Here is the invitation list for the ceremony, courtesy of the governor's office:

1.     Governor Rick Scott

2.     Mr. Carlos Lopez-Cantera

3.     Mrs. Renee Lopez-Cantera

4.     Miss Sabrina Lopez-Cantera

5.     Miss Sofia Lopez-Cantera

6.     Mr.  Gadyaces Serralata

7.     Mrs. Monica Serralata

8.     Ms. Esther “Shelly” Smith Fano

9.     Ms. Ana Fano

10.  Miss Miah Fano Barnes

11.  Mr. Marcus Barnes

12.  Mr. Robert Rosen

13.  Ms. Vivian Williams

14.  Mr. Carlos Lopez-Cantera, Sr.

15.  Mrs. Marta Ligia Lopez-Cantera

16.  Ms. Amada Lopez-Cantera

17.  Mr. Todd Rosen

18.  Mrs. Taryn Sheir Rosen

19.  Mr. Victor Lopez-Cantera

20.  Mr. Christopher Moya

21.  Mrs. Elizabeth Moya

22.  Ms. Linda Larrea

23.  Ms. Gloriah Rosen

24.  Mr. Trey Traviesa

25.  Mrs. Nina Traviesa

26.  Mr. Rolando Encinosa

27.  Mrs. Ana Encinosa

28.  Mr. Stephen Blumenthal

29.  Mrs. Allison Brumenthal

30.  Mr. Claudio Rodriguez

31.  Mrs. Lourdes Rodriguez

32.  Mr. Norman Braman

33.  Mrs. Norman Braman

34.  Mrs. Christina MacRobert

35.  Mr. Joseph Ruiz

36.  Mr. Ralph Garcia-Toledo

37.  Mrs. Vicky Garcia-Toledo

38.  Mr. Julio Gonzalez-Rebull

39.  Mr. Albert Maury

40.  Mr. Eric Del Pino

41.  Mr. Diego Del Pino

42.  Mr. Jamie Martinez

43.  Adam Hasner

44.  Chief Justice Ricky Polston

45.  Justice Charles Canady

46.  Justice Jorge Labarga

47.  AG Pam Bondi

48.  CFO Jeff Atwater

49.  President Don Gaetz

  1. Senator Thad Altman
  2. Senator Rob Bradley
  3. Senator Miguel Diaz de la Portilla
  4. Senator Rene Garcia
  5. Senator Audrey Gibson
  6. Senator Denise Grimsley
  7. Senator Alan Hays
  8. Senator Dorothy L. Hukill
  9. Senator John Legg
  10. Senator Gwen Margolis
  11. Senator Garrett Richter
  12. Senator Maria Lorts Sachs
  13. Senator Wilton Simpson
  14. Senator Kelli Stargel
  15. Senator John Thrasher

65.  Representative-Will W.-Weatherford

66.  Representative-Janet-Adkins

67.  Representative-Larry-Ahern

68.  Representative-Ben-Albritton

69.  Representative-Frank-Artiles

70.  Representative-Dennis-Baxley

71.  Representative-Lori-Berman

72.  Representative-Halsey-Beshears

73.  Representative-Jim-Boyd

74.  Representative-Jason T.-Brodeur

75.  Representative-Matt-Caldwell

76.  Representative-Gwyndolen-Clarke-Reed

77.  Representative-Marti-Coley

78.  Representative-Neil-Combee

79.  Representative-Richard-Corcoran

80.  Representative-Steve-Crisafulli

81.  Representative-Janet-Cruz

82.  Representative-W. Travis-Cummings

83.  Representative-Manny-Diaz (M)

84.  Representative-Dane-Eagle

85.  Representative-Joe-Gibbons

86.  Representative-Tom-Goodson

87.  Representative-Walter Bryan ''Mike''-Hill

88.  Representative-Doug-Holder

89.  Representative-Ed-Hooper

90.  Representative-Matt-Hudson

91.  Representative-Travis-Hutson

92.  Representative-Clay-Ingram

93.  Representative-Mike-La Rosa

94.  Representative-Debbie-Mayfield

95.  Representative-Seth-McKeel

96.  Representative-Bryan-Nelson

97.  Representative-Marlene-O'Toole

98.  Representative-Kathleen C.-Passidomo

99.  Representative-Jimmy T.-Patronis

100.                Representative-Cary-Pigman

101.                Representative-Ray-Pilon

102.                Representative-Elizabeth W.-      Porter

103.                Representative-Daniel D. -         Raulerson

104.                Representative-Michelle-            Rehwinkel Vasilinda

105.                Representative-Kenneth L. -       Roberson

106.                Representative-Ray Wesley-       Rodrigues (R)

107.                Representative-Hazelle P.          ''Hazel''-Rogers

108.                Representative-David-Santiago

109.                Representative-Jimmie T.-Smith             (J)

110.                Representative-Charlie-Stone

111.                Representative-James W. -        Waldman

112.                Representative-Alan B.-Williams

113.                Representative-John-Wood

114.                Representative-Ritch-Workman

115.                Representative-Dana D.-Young

116.                Speaker Dean Cannon

117.                Speaker Larry Cretul

118.                Speaker James Harold Thompson

119.                Speaker T.K. Wetherell

120.                The Honorable Bob Crawford     (Former Senate President)

121.                Commissioner Pam Stewart

122.                Secretary Craig Nichols

123.                Secretary Gray Swoope

124.                Barbara Palmer

125.                Nick Wiley

126.                Secretary Esther Jacobo

127.                Secretary Herschel Vinyard

128.                Secretary Wansley Walters

129.                Ash Williams

130.                Secretary Ananth Prasad

131.                Secretary Cynthia O’Connell

132.                Secretary Liz Dudek

133.                Will Seccombe

134.                David Hart

135.                Secretary Mike Crews

136.                Secretary Chuck Corley

137.                Chris Hart

138.                Jesse Panuccio

139.                Secretary Ken Lawson

140.                Secretary Ken Detzner

141.                Colonel Mike Pendergast

142.                John Sebree

143.                Carol Dover

144.                Rick Watson

145.                Mary Lou Rajchel

146.                Pam Olsen

147.                Randy Miller

148.                Bob Burleson

149.                Deborah Curry

150.                Brewster Bevis