This blog has moved.

Please visit our new page here

« Artiles' military approach wins over Florida Senate GOP leaders | Main | High court seems open to Miami's plea for millions from banks for discriminatory housing loans »

Richard Corcoran names House leadership team


Speaker-designate Richard Corcoran on Wednesday released the Florida House leadership team for the 2016-2018 term.

Of note: Corcoran has handed powerful posts to his likely successors as speaker: Jose Oliva of Miami Lakes will chair the powerful Rules and Policy Committee. And Chris Sprowls of Palm Harbor will chair the Judiciary Committee, which often handles controversial social and criminal justice issues.

The team is heavy on Miami lawmakers with five members of the Dade delegation. As well, it includes just one woman: Speaker Pro Tempore Jeanette Nunez of Miami.

A list of subcommittee chairmen has not yet been published.

Here's the full commitee list from Corcoran:

Speaker Pro Tempore: Jeanette Nunez, R-Miami

Majority Leader: Ray Rodrigues, R-Estero

Rules and Policy Committee: Jose Oliva, R-Miami Lakes

Appropriations Committee: Carlos Trujillo, R-Miami

Commerce Committee: Jose Felix Diaz, R-Miami

Education Committee: Michael Bileca, R-Miami

Government Accountability Committee: Matt Caldwell, R-North Fort Myers

Health and Human Services Committee: Travis Cummings, R-Orange Park

Judiciary Committee: Chris Sprowls, R-Palm Harbor

Public Integrity and Ethics Committee: Larry Metz, R-Yalaha

Ways and Means Committee: Jim Boyd, R-Bradenton